Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts 1 & 2,by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

hpBook Synopsis:

Published July 31st 2016 | 327 pages

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

 

Review: 3 magical stars

I actually really enjoyed this story! Yes, I know that there were flaws and inconsistencies but I haven’t read the Harry Potter books in about 10 years so I just loved being reunited with the old gang.

 

tumblr_mn6658MXn41s7ncozo1_500
I’m in that age group that basically grew up with Harry Potter and I would say that Harry Potter played a huge role in my love of reading. It was actually one of the first real novels that I read on my own – I remember so clearly the day my mum suggested I read it, I think I was about 7 and thought a book about a boy sounded super lame. But my mother insisted we could read it together, so she started reading Harry Potter to me every evening and I soon became so obsessed I began reading it on my own. From then on I was obsessed. I was devastated when the final book came out – how could it be over!? But getting to read this stage play was like a gift from J.K Rowling, it gave me the opportunity to experience the Harry Potter world again in a new way. The nostalgia that hit me from scene 1 was insane! This story took me back to my childhood and all the good memories I have associated to the Harry Potter books, so yeah, I loved it.

I’m not going to lie to you and say that the story is flawless. It’s not, there were several flaws. A main problem for me was that Harry was not the father I expected him to be. I thought that Harry, who was once an outcast child, would’ve been a tad better at relating to his own outcast son… Just saying.

Secondly, and this is quite technical, but polyjuice potion doesn’t taste fishy. It tastes like the essence of that person! Bit of an oversight.

There are more problems that I had with the story, some of the characterisation and the finer details but I don’t want to put any spoilers in this review. I also think that this story should be given a little bit of slack from the critics, at the end of the day this is not a novel meant to be read as a spin-off of Harry Potter. It’s a play and there’s only so much detail you can put in a play

… Maybe JK should just write another Harry Potter book?! Oh what a fantastic idea Maddi! I agree.

 

3_Stars7

Buy book!

 Check out our thoughts on more of J.K. Rowling’s books –

13497818

Leave a Reply

