The Book of Ivy (The Book of Ivy, #1) by Amy Engel

20640755Book Synopsis:
Published November 11th 2014 by Entangled: Teen
282 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him…

Book Review: 5 stars black

What did I just read? Why do I not have the next one sitting right next to me so I can devour it like I just did this one!?

…google….google….WHAT!! I have to wait until NOVEMBER!! and it is a DUOLOGY!! Engel must have some other books out that I can read in the mean time……NO!!!

WHY BOOK GODS WHY!!

*falls into a heap cradling her kindle*

Often goodreads reviews can be misleading, especially those ones that have such high ratings but only one sentence reviews. THIS IS NOT ONE OF THOSE BOOKS THAT HAS MISLEADING REVIEWS!! THE REVIEWS ARE SO SHORT BECAUSE YOU ARE LEFT SPEECHLESS (sorry for the over use of caps).

Anyway….

Ivy has been tasked with one mission. To kill her new husband. It was supposed to be her sisters responsibility, but the Governor’s son chose her instead to marry. She doesn’t have a choice, she has to do it so her family can be in charge. Like they were supposed to be all along. But Ivy’s new husband doesn’t want anything fake with her, he believes it’s a real marriage. One that will last until death. He doesn’t realise his is soon approaching.

The Book of Ivy picks up from the very first page. You won’t be able to put it down. No you won’t. I’m not lying.

There are so many twists and turns in this one. Not just for you, but also for the characters! Enormous revelations about the past and perceptions of situations that have influenced horrific decisions all may be a lie. Ivy’s belief of how horrible the world really is, may not be fixed as simply as she believes it can be. There are thing she is too young to understand, things others have always thought for her. Thoughts that have poisoned her perceptions, thoughts that are leading her down a dangerous path.

I. Just. Loved. This. One.

The romance was so sweet and endearing. The novel really dived into the reality and the reasoning of the situations imposed on these people in this dystopian world. I love novels where everything is well justified. It may be crazy, but crazy sense is always fun.

The Book of Ivy is one of those that you’ll see, read the back of and think it sounds interesting but then put it back.
DON’T PUT IT BACK!!

Or maybe do. At least until November. So then you can marathon this duology.

meg3

Leave a Reply

