The Graveyard Book Volume 1 by P. Craig Russell & Neil Gaiman

18738869Book Synopsis:
Published July 29th 2014 by HarperCollins
192 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
The first volume of a glorious two-volume, four-color graphic novel adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery Medal-winning novel The Graveyard Book, adapted by P. Craig Russell and illustrated by an extraordinary team of renowned artists.

Inventive, chilling, and filled with wonder, Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book reaches new heights in this stunning adaptation. Artists Kevin Nowlan, P. Craig Russell, Tony Harris, Scott Hampton, Galen Showman, Jill Thompson, and Stephen B. Scott lend their own signature styles to create an imaginatively diverse and yet cohesive interpretation of Neil Gaiman’s luminous novel.

Volume One contains Chapter One through the Interlude, while Volume Two will include Chapter Six to the end.

Book Review : 4 stars black

One of the writers that inspire me is Neil Gaiman. I am envious of the way he masterfully creates worlds and tells his tales. The Graveyard Book is no exception.

I wish I had in my possession the second volume, because you are definitely left wanting more. I could just read the actual book, lets be honest for a second, but then I would miss out on the wonderful illustrations. It must be said (in my opinion) that the imagery in this graphic novel isn’t my favourite. I put this down to it being illustrated by several wonderful people. Each style on their own is again, wonderful, but together and mixed throughout the novel..well it doesn’t go unnoticed.

So far, since I haven’t actually completed the whole novel, I am really enjoying it. I know I would have a greater appreciation if I actually read the book as it definitely reads as short stories rather than chapters in a novel.

The world is fantastic, with unique and historical elements embedded flawlessly. The characters are incredibly unique and you just marvel at Gaiman’s creativity.

I have many a theories about what is really going on, but shouldn’t share them because of spoilers. And also, you should go and pick this one up. If not this version, then definitely the novel. I know I will.

meg3

Leave a Reply

