Poison Study (Study, #1) by Maria V. Snyder

60510Book Synopsis:
Published March 1st 2007 by Mira
412 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear…

Book Review: 3_Stars71/2

This is one of those books that just sits on your kindle for ages and every time you think that you will start it, another book comes along and takes it place. Well, well, well. I am here to tell you to no longer disregard this book on your kindle as one of those whimsical purchases you did when you just wanted to spend money and this one sounded okay and it had a pretty cover so bonus…even though on kindle it doesn’t really matter (but to true book lovers it secretly does). You will be astounded by this ones goodness. Astounded I tell you, and maybe even a little bit intrigued.

Poison Study was unique. It does what all good books do, in my opinion, which is to suck you into the world as soon as possible. Dare I say the first page? I loved this world and I loved the main character. I adored the historical elements related to poisons and the magical components that you know will play a larger role in the future. Yes I am being uber vague…because I don’t want to spoil you silly.

What was lacking (look at my rating something was lacking) was romance! I wanted more bloody romance. I wanted to feel like my heart was pumping along with Yelena’s and that I was so immersed in the world that I wouldn’t be able to breathe until I finished the novel. And this didn’t happen. Yes it most likely is due to the fact that for a major part of the novel I thought that Valek was an old guy…he is not. Do not let your imagination ruin him for you, read carefully in the first few pages. Major oops. It is most possibly, again, because of this that I thought the romance came out of nowhere and then escalated a bit quickly. Who knows.

It was a quick read and an interesting fantasy world. Definitely give it a go. Just remember Valek is not an old guy!

meg3

2 thoughts on “Poison Study (Study, #1) by Maria V. Snyder

  1. If you want romance, read the sequels–more than enough in there for the whole trilogy! 😉 I quite liked this book but hated the sequels because of the romance. It was too much!

Leave a Reply

