Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

20613470Book Synopsis:
Published September 2nd 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
565 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

Book Review: 4 stars black

~ This review does contain spoilers ~

This was one of those books that I rewarded myself with after I had completed a 50% assignment. I most definitely felt as though the universe was speaking to me. Even wanted me to, nay, needed me to buy this book even though I have a stack of others to read and have told myself ‘No Meg! No more books!’ But I caved. After all if the universe puts a Sarah J. Maas book in your line of sight, you need to pick that darn book up. Especially if it is the last one on the shelf.

This was a monstrosity of a book, with action packed sequences and so much character development that you just know the next one is going to be brilliant! Which I guess is why I can’t give this one the full five stars, because it definitely falls into that middle book syndrome. Not much happened.

Heir of Fire was all about preparing Celaena to become the queen she is meant to be. She was able to eventually gain courage from her past, and build her need to do something about the tragedies that had occurred. Also she now has awesome control over her magic! Yay Celaena! An unstoppable killing machine now.

I loved the introduction of Rowan, and how their friendship really bloomed into something that she needed. But I wanted them to get together, like together together.  Even though I know that this wasn’t what she needed, but it most certainly was what I wanted. Maybe it was because it had been so long since I had read Crown of Midnight (and had forgotten a whole heap of things, like embarrassingly so) but I thought Rowan was a great choice. However, it was made perfectly clear that this was not on the table and that since Rowan was immortal it would be too heart wrenching to watch someone he was in love with age. Anyway…

I liked how it flicked between what was happening in Adarlan, and then we also had the witch army that was brewing. This really gave a greater perspective on the war that was brewing and it was incredibly interesting. But you’re left needing the next one, it’s like watching the last book of a trilogy in movie form and it has been split into two. You need the next one pronto!

Dorian in this one moves on, and again that was what he ‘needed’. The death of Sorcha also will give him more drive. Although he hated his father I think now his hatred will fuel him more to start fighting back. Chaol was still spewing over Celaena like a love sick puppy, but towards the end he grew some balls and started to kick his rear into gear. He’ll be a great asset in the next one for sure.

I actually predict Celaena ending up with no one. Maybe it’s my ‘you don’t need a man’ feminism speaking, but who knows. Or, alternatively, (which then just smashes my prediction into non-existence) that she will tie herself with someone that makes a difference and that has that drive to eradicate the King and his minions from the world. Chaol could be this guy (I hope not) but he has a long way to go. And Dorian is probably almost there, although I reckon that Elide girl will come back in and then it will be like a power foursome.

Celaena is a bad ass! And I want the next one.

meg3

Leave a Reply

