Zomburbia by Adam Gallardo

19083252Book Synopsis:
Published August 26th 2014 by K-Teen
368 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
My name is Courtney Hart, and I’m here to tell you about things that suck. Being born in a podunk town like Salem, Oregon, for one. Living in a world infested with zombies? That, too. And the meat heads I go to school with? I think I’d actually take the undead over them most days. But I have a plan to get out of here and move to New York. I just have to keep selling Vitamin Z along with your fries at The Bully Burger. The secret ingredient? Zombie brains.

I’ve noticed things are getting even worse lately, if that’s even possible. The zombies seem to be getting smarter and faster. If I can avoid being arrested, eaten by shufflers, or catching the eye of some stupid boy, I should be able to make it through finals week still breathing. . .

Book Review: 3_Stars71/2

Thank you to K-Teen for providing me with a copy of Zomburbia in exchange for an honest review.

So you feel as though Zombies have been done to death? That there is nothing fresh and original that can be said/done about them? You’ve been watching the Walking Dead and feel as though anything zombie related must have carnage? Well, you’ve come to the right place..because do I have a novel for you.

Gallardo’s fresh take on zombies is simply refreshing. The world starts off with a zombie-apocalypse if you will, but life goes on. Which is admirable. Teenagers still work sucky jobs, still go to school. It’s just that now they might have to kill a zombie every now and again. No biggy….right?

The main character definitely takes a while to get used to. On one hand she is brilliantly sarcastic (which I love) but on the other sometimes it is a bit too much. And it sort of leans towards ‘Does this girl ever take anything seriously?’ I didn’t warm to the love interest Brandon, but only because he seemed too wishy washy to be with her. I also secretly hoped he had an evil side that would burst out…but nope.

For me, this one is all about the world. It is a unique take on a concept that has existed for years.

meg3

Leave a Reply

