Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, #2) by Diana Gabaldon

5364Book Synopsis:
Published August 7th 2001 by Delta
768 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
For twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones … about a love that transcends the boundaries of time … and about James Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his….

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart … in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising … and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves….

Book Review: 4 stars black

Again I must repeat myself. ‘Where have you been all of my life?’ I am not even sure if my devotion to the literary world was as great as I thought it was until I begun this series. Yes, what a grand statement you are making Meg (I hear you say), but if I searched into that little place in my heart that holds all of the books I have loved, then I think right now I need to make a whole new room to immortalise Gabaldon.

Dragonfly in Amber was an excellent sequel to Outlander. Although from the very first page I was a bit hesitant because I thought ‘oh no. Not a time jump…I really hate time jumps.’ But alas this was short lived as you are then transported back through time to figure out why the beginning part happened in the first place..and it is heart wrenchingly beautiful.

At times the book did drag on a bit, and I was a tad bit confused whilst trying to piece together the events both historically accurate with particular characters based on actual people. It felt as though I was back in high school sitting in  a history class just waiting for someone to give me a dot point form of years and events. Then again I was also eager for the focus to switch back to Jamie, so I probably wasn’t paying as close attention as I probably should have. Regardless, Gabaldon had done her research. All elements, even the little details about fire places or specific games, were clearly historically referenced. That is dedication to your craft dear readers. Which is why you can seamlessly be transported back in time. She is a flawless writer.

I adore Jamie and Claire. They are the absolute definition of soul mate. In the second instalment you get to see them settle into their marriage, but still with that fiery passion we all love to read from Gabaldon. I really loved how their relationship evolved and became so much more, it really built upon the events that happened in such an honest way.

Their relationship with Jack Randall just gives me the shivers. And I hate that Gabaldon made me feel pity towards him. He is such a complex character that from a writers point of view you have to admire his depth, but from a person point of view – he really needs to die.

I love the complexity and richness of this world. It is very rare that I finish a novel and just think that it was such a joy to read. I am always eager to return to this world, and I just am in awe at it’s brilliance.

meg3

One thought on “Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, #2) by Diana Gabaldon

Leave a Reply

