The Assassin’s Curse (The Assassin’s Curse #1) by Cassandra Rose Clarke

13533650Book Synopsis:
Published October 2nd 2012 by Strange Chemistry
298 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Ananna of the Tanarau abandons ship when her parents try to marry her off to another pirate clan. But that only prompts the scorned clan to send an assassin after her. When Ananna faces him down one night, armed with magic she doesn’t really know how to use, she accidentally activates a curse binding them together.

To break the spell, Ananna and the assassin must complete three impossible tasks–all while grappling with evil wizards, floating islands, haughty manticores, runaway nobility, strange magic…and the growing romantic tension between them.

Book Review: 3_Stars71/2

“I can’t believe this,” I muttered, cradling the skein of water up close to my chest. “Two weeks in the desert all on account of some assassin who doesn’t know how to look out for snakes.”

“If you hadn’t killed that snake,” Naji said calmly, “I would have killed you.”

” Oh, shut up.”

Is it weird that I have always loved the prospect of becoming a pirate? What isn’t to admire about a life on the sea, searching for treasure and making pesky individuals walk the plank? I tell you nothing! There is nothing about the pirates life that isn’t for me…see what I did there? Of course you will be able to come up with a multitude of reasons for why a pirates life would not suit anyone…history tells us these things anyway. Regardless, it doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy a story where the main character is in fact a pirate. Even better, one where the main character is also a girl.

The Assassins Curse is an engaging tale of pirates and assassins bound together by an impossible curse. (Isn’t it always exciting when the title tells you exactly what the story is about…sometimes they can be very misleading). You will experience sword fighting, ship sailing, unresolved love pouting and of course a search for a cure to rid yourself of a devilishly scarred assassin.

I enjoyed that Clarke jumped right into the story, because sometimes I get a bit irritated when I have to wait for blurb to actually happen. The characters were funny and the tale was engaging for the most part.

However, I didn’t find myself eager to get back to this one. And I am honestly putting it down to the way that Ananna speaks…it annoyed me. Yes I understood that she was a pirate, who had an accent which involved slang like ‘gotta’ and ’em’..but it wasn’t consistent. Not in the way that she spoke, and most definitely not in her inner thoughts. Which is why it was easier for me to disengage.

I do want to continue with this one..but since it is a duology I can sort of already predict what will happen in the next one.

What do you think? Have you read this one?

meg3

 

2 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Curse (The Assassin’s Curse #1) by Cassandra Rose Clarke

  1. I enjoyed this duology tremendously, and ended up reading both books in one sitting because I couldn’t put it down. I loved the way that Clarke dealt with gender roles; the fact that Ananna’s a girl doesn’t make her any less of a pirate, and the challenges she thinks her gender will pose turn out to be obstacles that are completely surmountable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

