Branded (Sinners, #1) by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki

17402117Book Synopsis:
Published June 28th 2013
252 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

Book Review: 2-stars 1/2

~ I received this book in exchange for an honest review ~

I am a sucker for anything to do with religion, even if it is loosely based on it. A dystopian that revolves around the 7 deadly sins as a method to punish people was such a cool concept that I was eager to jump right into this one!!

Don’t get me wrong fellow readers, this world was rather intriguing. The Commander believed that the downfall of human kind was that we give into our desires (aka. the 7 deadly sins). So if you are caught engaging in one of these sins then you are taken to the Hole, where you are branded with your sin. When we first meet our main character Lexi she is being captured and taken to the Hole where she is branded with the sin Lust.

The Hole is not a place I wish to ever visit. It honestly felt like I was reading about one of the levels in hell from Dante’s Inferno. And yes the whole system was corrupt and at times I thought to myself that these side characters aren’t getting punished for acting on a deadly sin, but it didn’t really bother me that much because I just figured the whole world was screwed up anyway why not add in a little bit more darkness. Obviously you can tell from my rating though that I had a few issues, and these were generally in relation to the characters.

In stories like these there is most probably going to be some sort of romance, it is just what happens. And maybe it is because stories where the tough guy who ‘just has to do his job’ and the girl who ‘has hidden secrets’ fall madly in love, have been over read by myself that I found this one lacking. In all honesty though the romance just didn’t make any sense and its development was tiresome to read. Lexi and Cole’s relationship was predictable from the beginning, which is fine because these things tend to be predictable. It was their overall personalities though that just made their relationship so hard to read about. For one thing a guy like Cole would never have joined the guards (let alone stayed). And the fact that Lexi was more concerned about all the mixed singles Cole was giving her then escaping from the Hole was very frustrating, especially since she tried to kill herself in the first few pages of the novel. It just didn’t make sense.

This is not a YA novel, it deals with really upsetting issues which were horrific to read about and I had to skim over in the end because I just don’t like reading about those kinds of things. The trauma that someone like Lexi would have gone through given the position she had found herself in, and her life prior to the Hole, would have left a multitude of scars which weren’t readily evident in the story.

I know that some devoured this one, and for me I’m sorry but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

meg3

Leave a Reply

