Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

11235712Book Synopsis:
Published January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
390 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Book Review : 4 stars black 1/2

Fairytale retellings are my kryptonite. Secretly (but I guess not so secretly now) I have always wanted to be a princess. I blame The Princess Diaries for my inner desire to be royalty. And maybe, like my Hogwarts letter, I am secretly hoping that this might be the year some hot prince shows up at my door step revealing that I am in fact the long-lost princess of a small island and that we are to be betrothed. Then of course we’ll live happily ever after….mainly because he’d be great to look at BUT of course he’d have an amazing personality as well. Anyway, enough of my day dreaming.

Cinder actually surprised me with it’s brilliance! This one has been sitting on my shelf for a while dear lovers of literature, and it wasn’t until I spied/stalked Maddison’s goodreads that I noticed she had been devouring this series. Of course in a desperate effort to be more like my best pal I needed to read this series so that we could engage in conversations (much like we do on a consistent basis) that border on psychotic for onlookers may believe we actually know these fictional characters.

Meyer has brilliantly built upon the age old tale of poor Cinderella with a cyborg twist. The world is truly marvellous to read about, with its intricacies well developed and realistic to a degree. I loved all of the technological elements and how they integrated so well into the overall storyline.

Cinder was an awesome female protagonist! Everything I truly love in my heroines! The issue that I have with the original Cinderella is the focus on ‘you must have a husband to be of any worth’ (yes clearly reflective of the times) which is why I adore Meyer’s Cinder with her futuristic take on gender roles. Prince Kai was a breath of fresh air as well, and I do hope that he appears in the other companion novels.

The reason for the lack of five stars is the predictability of this one. As a reader you are very quickly able to figure out one of the key mysteries very early on, and the characters don’t realise this until the very last few pages. Knowing before the characters did, didn’t take any of the enjoyment out of this one. I am incredibly eager to continue with this series, but of course am fearful that I won’t love the next set of characters nearly as much. I miss Iko.

What did you think of this one? Will you pick it up if you haven’t already?

meg3

4 thoughts on “Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

  1. this was such a great book… I couldn’t put it down… and I seriously have to get the next one… but I did love what she did with the story… she was able to weave in the little bits that make up Cinderella in interesting new ways… while still making this book very much her own…

Leave a Reply

