Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) by Tahereh Mafi

18053135Book Synopsis:
Published February 4th 2014 by HarperCollins
416 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam – was wrong.

Book Review: 5 stars black

It is very rare that I find myself saying this..well typing it if we are being all accurate. But the last instalment of what is probably always going to be one of my favourite series was phenomenal. There is not one bad thing that I can say about it, besides the fact that I want more.

Everything wrapped up ever so nicely, and I do believe (despite my desire to have more Warner time) that Mafi ended the series where it needed to be ended with a gigantic sense of hope for these characters futures. I believe they’ll be successful in their endeavours to create better futures for everyone, despite how ambitious their will is. It only takes one…well ok..it takes nine.

Warner as a character is just so incredibly well developed, and I LOVE that he remains himself throughout the whole series. That he doesn’t ‘change’ for Juliette, and it is actually her who changes for him. He opens her eyes to the reality of things, whether that be in regards to herself or their greater purpose. And he never backs down, even when she rejects him so harshly several times. That is true love. It was always going to end up that way, as a pair they just build each other up..Igniting each other..see what I did there *sheepish grin at word play * to be the better version of themselves. And I am gleefully happy that she realises the difference between Adam and Warner, and that it doesn’t even end up being a decision in a sense, because it ends up being a situation where there is only one answer. And it is a sexy as hell one.

“And we are quotation marks, inverted and upside down, clinging to one another at the end of this life sentence. Trapped by lives we did not choose.”
Warner & Juliette | Ignite Me

Again, I don’t know how much I can stress this, but I adore Mafi’s writing. The way she describes things just amazes me, and it so lyrically brilliant that she creates these images of pure emotion that you just can’t escape and end up re-reading until the wee hours of the morning. I will always read whatever she creates.

Adam was redeemed for me in this one. If you read my Fracture Me review you would know that he frustrated the hell out of me to the point I began to dislike him. My reasoning was silly, because it was just that he didn’t love Juliette enough. Which again is silly because I’m a Warner fan through and through. Anyway so Adam was redeemed, but not from anything that he said or did. To be honest he was a bit of mean bitch for a good section of the book…all heartbroken yes, but still a dick. Regardless it wasn’t until we see Adam through Warners eyes that I began to feel a sense of peace towards Adam (and unclenched my fists). Its when Warner is explaining to Juliette that he understands where Adam is coming from, because he had been there. (He was talking about losing Juliette).

I was very surprised that Juliette actually ended up being the one to kill Anderson. I was sure that it was going to be one of his sons. And to a certain point I wish it had been, but then again their unwritten future was riding on the fact that Juliette needed to be the saviour out of the bloodshed. Going back to Warner, just briefly, I think it was so great how the bird that is tattooed on Adam actually ended up being a sign for Warner, not a pre-deemed fate for Jul-dam. Cuteness. And also that there is that bird in the eye on the cover…yes.

I liked the fact that in Ignite Me there are no cross outs, that Juliette has just become so sure of herself. The covers really show her development as a character. Good job hiring that person.

I am going to be eternally sad now that this series is over, and although there is apparently a movie in the works it will still be ages until I get to see Warners sexy face on the big screen. Oh well…i’ll just keep on re-reading the series. And I never re-read series, so you know it’s pretty fantastic.

meg3

6 thoughts on “Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) by Tahereh Mafi

    • I agree 🙂 I think as a reader you just have such a clear image of who they are. And I love the fact that Warner doesn’t actually change, but it is us/Juliette who realise who he really is. So BRILLIANT!!

  1. WAIT – MOVIE?? *dies* Now I’m freaking out again thanks a lot for that! Gah, I could go on and on and on about Warner and Adam in this book. I actually did. But that’s another story xD Ignite Me was the best book in this series, I agree. And I need to read it again. The entire series, actually.

    • Yeah I came across a blog post by Mafi talking about it, but they’re still in the script writing stage so a while off. Like a LONG while!! Gosh! Me 2!! I need to re-read this series 🙂 I’ll probably be doing it until the end of time LOL

  2. Oh my! I love your review! This series has become one of my all-time favorites too! Worthy of countless re-reads in the future. I completely agree with you because I love that Warner doesn’t change, he is just who he is, loving Juliet in the beginning and then being loved by Juliet as well as the story progresses. And I adore Ms. Mafi’s writing style. Her words… they just get me right in the heart!

    If you have time, you can check out my review of Ignite Me HERE.

    Camille @ Girl meets Books

Leave a Reply

