Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2) by Tahereh Mafi

13104080Book Synopsis:
Published February 5th 2013 by HarperCollins
461 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.
Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.
She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.
Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.
In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Book Review: 5 stars black

~ This review does contain spoilers ~

That’s it fellow book lovers. I have now become obsessed with this series. Man I thought I was obsessed before, but now..I think I have taken it to a whole other level of crazy. I’m not even sure what I was doing with my life before I found this series, because right now it is all I ever think about and want to talk about…it’s getting weirder up in my mind.

Unravel Me is the second book in the Shatter Me series, and let me just tell you…I FREAKING LOVED IT!! I could not put this book down. I was reading it whenever I got the chance, and believe me I was annoying everyone I was around. Why? Because I would sneaky read under the table or in the car rather than engage in actual human interaction. Who needs real people anyway, when you have fictional people. Am I right?

So at the end of Shatter Me we realise that there is actually a whole underground rebellion happening who are trying to overthrow The Reestablishment, and these people have powers. How did they get there powers? Well this is never really explained..so lets just ignore that point. We also find out that Adam is a disabler, and this is why he can touch Juliette. But unfortunately the more vulnerable he feels around her the weaker his power becomes and so he starts to feel her deathly touch. This really puts a downer on their relationship. But then Warner swoops in and we figure out that him and Adam are in fact related which is why Warner can also touch Juliette. Warner is able to actually absorb Juliette’s power and re-distrubte it to another person..pretty cool. And this means that he won’t die if they decide to get all physical. Which is a bright idea for Juliette.

The whole Warner and Adam debate is a really hard one. I don’t think that I have ever had this much trouble trying to figure out which one I want more. It is hard i’m telling you. On one hand we have Adam who has loved Juliette every since they were young and who is so devoted to her that he is working on developing his powers so that they can be together. But then on the other we have Warner who understands her darker side and accepts it, because he too has had a horrible childhood and understands the pressures the world currently is putting on them. Who to choose?

I have not yet read Fracture Me but I am sort of thinking that there must be a revelation in it that gives us an inkling on who she will choose. At the moment it could really go either way.  None of the fellers are really saints in all of this, because they have both killed people in order to survive.

I’m intrigued by this super powered rebellion, and I can’t wait to see how it all pans out in Ignite MeI need the next one, but I fear I’ll end up being a shut in (ok more of a shut in) and just re-reading this series when it is over..or at least until Mafi writes another series.

meg3

2 thoughts on “Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

