Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1) by Kendare Blake

9378297Book Synopsis:
Published September 2011 by Tom Doherty Associates
316 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.
So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
Yet she spares Cas’s life.

Book Review: 3_Stars7 1/2

A romantic, spellbinding, slice of mystery and death is what you will get with this awesome ghost tale. Meet Cas, a young lad who has taken over the family business after his father was brutally eaten by an unknown entity. Cas armed with his fathers athame now kills ghosts, but when he meets Anna (dubbed Anna dressed in blood by those who know her murder tale) everything changes. For she isn’t like the other ghosts Cas has encountered, there is something a lot more mysterious and deadly about the girl with the blood stained dress.

Don’t let my rating deter you from reading this one, it was truly a riveting and really quick read. I don’t read many books with a male protagonist, but I enjoyed being inside of Cas’s mind. I felt he had a strong and witty male presence which was refreshing. The whole mystery surrounding Anna was pretty creepy, and the way everything was described shows Blake’s natural talent as an author. However, I did feel as though the ending was a bit rushed. Some things (that I won’t name in this section of my review) I thought would be best suited to cover in the next and final book, and although the cliff hanger does set up what I’m sure will be an epic conclusion I did leave the book feeling as though so much was crammed into those last pages.

This is a ghost tale, and the way ghosts are created is that something awful has happened to them and now they have unfinished business. If you are squeamish and are against people getting ripped in half then maybe just skim over those parts. I enjoyed this one, it kept me engaged and I’ll definitely be picking the next one up in the near future.

meg3

If you don’t want to be spoiled, please don’t continue reading..or do..I ain’t the boss of you..

Well, well, well, where shall I start. Umm…ok well I thought that this book was really well thought out (besides that rushed ending) There are likeable characters that really stand out as their own person. I did feel as though the Anna and Cas relationship wasn’t as romantic as it had been made out to be from reviews i’d read or watched. I understood that he felt drawn to her, like she was a puzzle he couldn’t figure out, and I understood her feelings towards Cas as well since he saved her from being all evil. BUT now, I don’t know much about ghosts but I thought Cas was pretty selfish that he wasn’t going to send Anna onto the next plain… because he liked her. And yes it turns out that the anthme is really bad as well with a nasty spirit trapped inside, but still. I thought he would have tried to help her a little more, rather than just struggle with the dilemma of letting her pass on. Another thing was that he could touch her. Since when can you touch ghosts? It would be pretty uninteresting if he couldn’t touch her, but I still felt a bit jipped on the ghost lore part.

I liked that his mother was a witch so that he didn’t have to hide what he was doing from her. Well most of what he was doing. In fact the whole range of powers in this tale were pretty cool. I’m not really sure how I feel about the ending in regards to this ghost eating/man eating voodoo thing. I honestly thought finding out who killed his father would be the second book, but I was wrong. It’ll be interesting to see how everything pans out.

The scene where we witness Anna actually being killed was horrific. It was just so devastatingly awful to think that she had gone through that, and at the back of my mind was the thought that there are people like those who killed her out there in the real world. It was eerily spot on. Although I must say that her mumma was a right BITCH! Binding her to the house..no.

Have you read it? What did you think?

6 thoughts on “Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1) by Kendare Blake

    • Thank you Nadia 🙂 I’m normally a no goer when it comes to male protagonists, but this one really made me like them. I’ll definitely be picking up more books with a male lead in the future.

Leave a Reply

