Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra Clare

18335634Book Synopsis:
Published March 19th 2013 by Walker Books Ltd
565 Pagesgoodreads-badge-add-black-38px
BUY BOOK
Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shaodwhunters of the London Institute.

A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her

Book Review: 4 stars black 1/2

This is the last book in the series..please don’t read this unless you like to be spoiled. 

What an EPIC conclusion of marvellous proportions! Excuse me for a second whilst I collect my feelings…OK! Oh Cassandra Clare how is it that you are able to make me see the positive through so much pain? You are truly a magnificent writer.

Clockwork Princess begins right where Clockwork Prince left off. Tessa has agreed to marry Jem, Will feels conflicted because he doesn’t want to disclose his unyielding love, Mortmain is still reeking havoc with his automatons and Henry tinkers down in his lab. IT. WAS. AMAZING!

Even from the start when Benedict Lightwood turns into a worm, because it is the last stage of  the demon pox…ahh…Hilarious! This book was a lot darker than the previous ones as everything is coming to an end. But I just loved how it ended. Although I was a bad girl and looked in the back of the book so I knew that Jem was still alive and that Will marries Tessa and then dies years later….which did spoil it a bit for me but the ending was rather perfect, and a whole lot more interesting then I imagined it would be.

Copyrighted_Image_Reuse_Prohibited_287351I am still a firm believer that you aren’t ever in love with more than once person at time, and the fact that Tessa and Will just couldn’t bring themselves to break Jem’s heart sort of confirmed this for me. That she loved Will more than she loved Jem..if she was even in love with Jem at all. When Jem became a Silent Brother I kept on saying to myself. No. There is no way that anyone in the world would be that nice. To sacrifice yourself which would mean that your best friend could be with your girl, just so that you didn’t have to leave them. It sort of felt like a weird threesome..without the benefits. Just friendship. I really did like that she rekindled her love with Jem in the end when he no longer was a Silent Brother. I love these two together, and this is what changed my opinion of the whole ‘becoming a silent brother thing.’ And sort of made me see how she loved them both.

It was also really great that in the epilogue we were able to see snippets of her and Will’s life together before he passed. So cute! BUT they slept together on the same day that Tess found out that Jem had ‘died.’ And although I understand their reasons, that they thought they would die in a few hours, please people. Keep it in your pants.

will_x_tessa_by_smitth-d4jrd30Cecily was such a great addition. She has all the sass and those heartbreaking eyes as Will, but with her own unique stubbornness. I loved her relationship with Gabriel and how they truly tested each other. Gideon and Sophie are so darn freaking cute!  Just like Henry and Charlotte. Henry created the portal! How amazing is that! I LOVE HIM! And on another sidetrack Magnus brought Church to New York, and how the neckless he gave Will ended up with Cecily so thus Isabelle! I loved all of the little historical points that end up in the TMI series.

We find out that Tessa’s clockwork angel actually has a piece of an angel in it, and that it is in tune with her life force so was pretty much made to save her. Pretty cool. The fact that she actually turns into the angel at the end and squishes Mortmain which in turn kills all of the automatons. Uber cool.  I know that Tessa shows up in TMI but I’m pretty sure that Jem is still Brother Zacaraiah. Which means that Clary and Jace must find the cure for him…YES! And then this must mean that Clockwork Princess is sort of more an end for both the series with Jem and Tess running off together. YES! I like it!

What did you think? You must read this series! I love it! I love Cassandra Clare! I want to crawl inside her imagination! Yes. I would like that very much.

meg3

2 thoughts on “Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra Clare

  1. I have not read this one, but I read the others and really liked them. There’s just soo many books, with the Infernal Devices and the Mortal Instruments…I’ve just lost track of them all

Leave a Reply

