Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2) by Cassandra Clare

10025305Book Synopsis:
Published 6th December 2011 by Simon & Schuster
501 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
BUY BOOK
Love and lies can corrupt even the purest heart
In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, while her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will – the wall he has build around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers tow ho she is and what she is born to do? As their search for the truth leads the three friends into peril, Tessa’s heart is increasingly torn, especially when one of their own betrays them…

Book Review: 4 stars black 1/2

“Trains are great dirty smoky things,” said Will. “You won’t like it.”
Tessa was unmoved. “I won’t know if I like it until I try it, will I?”
“I’ve never swum naked in the Thames before, but I know I wouldn’t like it.”
“But think how entertaining for sightseers,” said Tessa, and she saw Jem duck his head to hide the quick flash of his grin.”
Clockwork Prince | Cassandra Clare

Once again I fear that my heart has been torn to shreds because of a Cassandra Clare book. It has. I’m breaking.

Clare has written a brilliant and mesmerising sequel to Clockwork Angel that does not disappoint. It was easy to slip back into the Victorian London world  filled with so much pain and regret that I would stay up late just to see if there was a tiny glimpse of hope within this tale. And now I am shattered at the ending, and consumed by Tessa’s pain. FML. I care too much about these fictional characters.

65115381After the revelation that Mortmain is the Magister, Charlotte is blamed for letting his swifty ass sneak through the Shadowhunter’s fingers and is given an ultimatum. Either eliminate Mortmain by the end of two weeks or hand the London Institute over to the Lightwoods. Investigations discover Mortmain’s sorted past with the Nephilim and his motives start to unfade. But there is betrayal behind every door fuelled by misguided hearts. And if this wasn’t dangerous enough Tessa finds her self torn between two men, one searching for a way to be with her and the other trying to stay alive long enough to make her his.

Read it! Love it!

meg3

~ Spoilers are approaching, please don’t continue if you haven’t read the book ~

So just briefly, because I wan’t to discuss Jem & Will desperately, I freaking loved this book! I’m glad that Magnus had a more prominent role in this one, and that we got too see his relationship (or rather the end of it) with Camille. He is just so darn cute! Magnus wants to find something that is eternal, that makes his immortal life worth living. I can see why he becomes jaded by his original fantasies with Alec later on.

500px-Clockwork_Princess_-_Book_TrailerI did not see the Jessie betrayal coming, and I just wanted to slap her for being so misguided. I don’t believe she loved Nate, I think she was too wrapped up in this ideal life she had planned for herself that when Nate ‘saved’ her from the shadowhunters she convinced herself that it was love. And then Nate goes and dies, rather horrifically, but he seems remorseful in the end. I guess death brings a sense of regret, but I wonder why he insisted on Tessa wearing the angel?

Benedict was clearly evil! And I laughed so hard when it turned out to have something to do with demon pox. Oh how Will sung with glee…like actually! HILARIOUS. I feel like Gabriel will either die or join the good side in the next one, but on a side note I am glad that Gideon will be with Sophie.

Now….my feelings on the Jem & Will situation. Let me start by saying that I swooned over Will for his efforts to rid himself of the curse so that he could be with Tessa. And his guilt that weighed him down every time he had to push someone away, tears. But whilst this is happening Tessa is moving on with Jem. Who I do think that she loves, I’m just not sure she is in love with him. Yes she gets all the hyper active feelings when he is near, but in the end when she tells Will that she won’t be with him for the sake of hurting Jem I just know that she isn’t in love with Jem. Even though he is freaking amazing.

“I cannot explain love,” he said. “I could not tell you if I loved you the first moment I saw you, or if it was the second of third or fourth. But I remember the first moment I looked at you walking toward me and realised that somehow the rest of the world seemed to vanish when I was with you. That you were the centre of everything I did and felt and thought.”
Jem | Clockwork Prince

Hat off to you Mrs. Clare, for writing a declaration of Love that is so beautiful I have re-read it way too many times. I know that Jem is going to get the short end of a heartbreaking stick in the next book, that or die. I really hope he doesn’t die, but he probably will. And as much as it will pain me to read, it was like a stabbing feeling when Jem asks Will if the only reason he saved Tessa was because he knew how much she meant to him, and Will says yes because he can’t bring himself to hurt Jem. Which I feel, on reflection, that now both Will and Tessa are treating Jem the one way that he doesn’t want to be treated, like he is easily breakable. But Jem seems to be getting better as his love blossoms, but I wonder if it is just happiness?

clockwork-princess-wallpaper-5tslmmv1The reason I couldn’t give this book a full 5 stars was because of the whole curse not really being real. I felt like it was a bit obvious from the beginning. Initially I figured that it was odd that there was only one instance of this so called curse working, but then I ignored this point because Will would have ensured that no one loved him so that they didn’t end up dead. BUT clearly people love him, and his family wouldn’t have stopped loving him just because he ran away. I’m glad that he saw the error of his stupid ways, given that he was twelve when the demon was released, and that it is mentioned how he wouldn’t of known but still it didn’t feel as though it was something that should have held such importance in the overall story. The side effects of it were, but the actual problem just seemed so obviously false. Even Magnus wondered how the demon could have cast the curse, but only mentions this when they have actually managed to finally summon the demon. No.

Clearly Tessa is a combination of a shadowhunter and demon, which is impossible. But she also is probably immortal, which sucks for those she loves. I still wonder why the Magister wants her. It has something to do with Starkweather (or is it Starkwater) and his daughter or granddaughter i’m not sure…but the girl in the picture. Because he seemed a bit surprised when he saw her, and confused, so Tessa must either look like someone he used to know or he knows something important about her past. Maybe both.

Leave a Reply

