Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1) by Cassandra Clare

7171637Book Synopsis:
Published August 31st 2010 by Simon & Schuster, Margaret K. McElderry
479 Pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
BUY BOOK
In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

Book Review: 4 stars

4 stars black

If no one in the entire world cared about you, did you really exist at all?
Tessa | Clockwork Angel

I feel as though life can be somewhat unfair sometimes, especially when it comes to a Cassandra Clare novel. Unfair as in, now what am I supposed to do with myself until I get my hands on the next book? Unfair as in, you can’t write so beautifully that I laugh and cry with my new found friends (yes I said friends) and then just leave me so desperately seeking more. Unfair as in, you feel you can’t relate to reality now until you find somebody else who recognises Clare’s natural talent as you do!

tumblr_mv1ebjDDho1sleicso1_500This world has everything a daydreamer can hope for and more. I was wrapped back up in the mystery and romance with a Victorian London twist, ah what did you say? Why yes fellow readers for in this prequel to The Mortal Instruments we get to experience a whole new cast of characters, maybe with some sneaky old ones thrown into the mix, all set in the 1800s. And let me tell you! You’ll fall hard and fast. There is the ever beautiful Tessa who plays our naive protagonist that blossoms into a rather less naive protagonist, the every dashing William Herondale who you can’t help but swoon for and want to slap, oh and then there is Jem the other gorgeous male lead who always says the right things at the right time. What a threesome to be had readers! You won’t be able to decide who you love more, and secretly you’ll hope for a messy sandwich with you in the middle. We all know you will. Don’t deny it…I’m certainly not.

You will be romanced into this world of automatons and misleading villains. If you loved The Mortal Instruments then you’ll love this one even more. And as always if you don’t want to be spoiled please don’t continue reading.

~ Approaching spoilers ahead, hold onto your excitement people ~

Firstly I must state that I think I enjoyed this world a whole lot more than TMI, mainly because I found it to be a lot darker. It intrigued me from the get go, whether that be because the change in time or because of the morbidness that surrounded the Dark Sisters abode. Who am I kidding it’s probably because of Will with his ever quick tongue that makes me laugh. You can save me any day Will with those eyes. Its the eyes that get me every time. Damn you, sexy eyes.

” Well, she’s not responding to my advance,” he observed more brightly than he felt, “so she must be dead.”
“Or she’s a woman of good taste and sense.” Jem knelt down and looked up into the woman’s face.
Will & Jem | Clockwork Angel

I found Tessa to be rather annoying at first, but I put this down to her naivety about the world she has been rather dropped into. When she questioned whether women could be shadowhunters I just shook my head at the times. Oppressive regime supporters…clearly i’m a feminist. But like most protagonists I found she did grow, but at the same time I just find her to be incredibly trusting of those who are clearly misleading. The biggest shock to me though was the deception of her brother Nate. I did not see that coming, nor that Mortmain was the Majester who wants Tess to be his creepy younger bride. I like it when things surprise me, so hat off to you Mrs. Clare.

The addition of these automatons I thought was freaking awesome! Was the story set close to the industrial revolution? If so, what a unique spin. I’m really interested to see the underlying purpose for them, because even though they say Mortmain is the leader of this freaky machine based army I still feel like I am missing something. Besides the fact that I still don’t know about the circumstances of Tessa’s birth.

Of course the fun part begins now when I get to have a small fangirl moment over the magical qualities of Clare’s writing. She just has this ability to draw you in with her world building and she honestly creates such amazingly vivid characters. Jessie for instance, although wasn’t very on the feminist train, was still true to her beliefs which I admired. I understood her desire to not want a life associated with the shadowhunters and her reasons, although I didn’t like them, I respected them. So when  she says:

‘I’m a lady, Sophie. It is expected that a man sacrifices himself for a lady’s saftey’

I was thinking, that is so Jessie. Clare just creates these characters that you can’t help falling for, so yes I stand by what I typed earlier. They do become like friends, because you know them so well. Speaking of friends, I would love to have Will and Jem in my life. And how great friends are they, I mean really! You never come across two male leads who become romantic interest that are such great friends. I loved their witty banter between each other, and just how willing the other is to sacrifice themselves. Anyway, Will is just hilarious and so guarded, but Jem! Oh Jem how you tug at my heart strings. He says the most perfect things and I am so happy that Tessa is starting to see this.

“I promise you, the right man won’t care.”
Jem | Clockwork Prince

But I honestly can’t decide which one I prefer, so again a messy sandwich would be great. I did admire the relationship between Henry and Charlotte as well. They compliment each other, and it was great to read about a woman who wasn’t the shy one in the relationship nor the one who lacked control over maters of importance. Whilst backtracking I must also mention the running of other great works of literature throughout this book. It truly reflected the times, and I admire a protagonist who enjoys reading as well. The fact that Tess and Will bond over this is rather magical. And how funny are the interactions between Will and Gabriel Lightwood – hilarious!

There has to be more to Tess as well, because she just can’t be just a warlock. Is she also a shadowhunter? I.must.know. She is able to feel what others feel when she shape shifts into them, and what are the infernal devices?

The addition of Magnus and Camille was incredible. I’m happy that I got to see more of Magnus, because he is one of my favourites for life. This series should become a movie, or a TV show…I’m just saying.

meg3

Other books by the same author (click on the cover to take you to our review)…

377773267523781582996

3 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1) by Cassandra Clare

  1. Meg, your review was wonderfully written! Like you, I prefer TID more than TMI. It’s just amazing! And who can not fall in love with Will and Jem? I mean, c’mon. I can’t wait for you to read the rest of the series! As Nine would say, FANTASTIC.

    – Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot

  2. I read this one when it came out, and I am pretty sure I liked it, but then I kind of lost track of things and never read the other books. I need to reread this one and read the last two! Glad you liked this one!

Leave a Reply

