ARC: Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #1) by Aimee Carter

10838787Book Synopsis:
Expected Publication 26th November 2013 by Harlequin Teen
346 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
YOU CAN BE A VII. IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING.

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister’s niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There’s only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that’s not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she’s only beginning to understand.

Book Review: 4.5 stars

~ A gigantic hugs and kisses to Harlequin Teen for providing me with a copy of Pawn in exchange for an honest review ~

But the world is out there, and it understands that the illusion of knowledge and freedom is not the same as the real thing.
Nina Doe | Pawn

Brush up on your roman numerals fellow book lovers, you’ll need it! For Pawn is uniquely surprising, gripping to the very last page, and boy does it leave you wanting more. Please Carter, can I have some more?

chess-pawn-2In this dystopian world at the age of seventeen every individual takes a test to determine their rank in society. Whether that be a I, II, III, IV, V, or VI. ( I told you you needed to refresh your memory on roman numerals. ) your rank is sketched into the back of your neck. Everyone has an equal chance of attaining a high score, and the higher your score the greater chance you have at survival. I’s and II’s don’t last for very long and tend to end up Elsewhere. Kitty Doe scores a III which places limits on her life expectancy. When offered the opportunity of a lifetime to become a VII, a rank that is only ever inherited, she agrees without fully understanding the repercussions of her decision. She becomes Masked, surgically transformed into Lila Hart the Prime Minister niece. Unwilling to leave her old life behind, Kitty must embrace her new looks and fight to survive.

I enjoyed this book! Maybe a little bit too much, if that is even possible. I haven’t ever read anything by Aimee Carter but I can assure you that I have just joined the fan club wagon, I might even be a gold member if we are getting all technical. She was able to build this world that has such dark undertones that I purely loved it. Every moment. And when I reached the end I honestly yelled NO! Legit, no lying. There are so many twists and turns in this world that is full of secrets and whispers of revolution that you won’t be able to put it down.

Do I recommend this book? A hells yes!

If you don’t want to be spoiled please don’t continue reading for there will be some discussioning going on below..I warned you.

So as mentioned above I really enjoyed this world, enjoyment as in I found it interesting not all happy fun times. Im not a sadist. Even from the first mention of Kitty when we find out that all second borns are given away and then branded with the last name Doe to show that they aren’t wanted, cruel. But interesting. And the political system that is based on a test which is clearly flawed because the spawn of those in power don’t have to take the test they inherit their rank, or the fact that the I’s, II’s and elderly are sent to Elsewhere and are hunted down (literally) because the country is overpopulated and there isn’t enough resources…cruel. But so interesting. Carter’s writing captivated my attention down to the very last detail of this world she has created. It is truly phenomenal.

Everybody gets what they deserve based on what they’re worth, and if they do anything to take away from our society, they pay the price.
Daxton Hart | Pawn

Kitty as a protagonist grew on me. She is so willing to die for her boyfriend Benjy that she would risk losing her virginity to the highest bidder just so that one day they could live a life together. Is that not true love? The one thing that I sort of just had to put to the back of mind was that after she was masked there was no unsettling feelings over not looking like she used to. Even Benjy didn’t mention anything about it when they finally meet again.  I was sort of hoping for a ‘I still see you underneath’ kind of moment. But I guess with her eyes being the same as Lila’s. Maybe he was too relieved that she wasn’t dead, but I’m pretty sure I’d be a little bit upset over the fact I no longer looked the same. For me it’d be because I would no longer looked like my family, and well Kitty is technically an orphan so….Yet, no question of Who am I? odd.

I was also a bit concerned that Knox wasn’t really that fazed that his fiancé was now being impersonated by a III, but of course when we realise that Lila isn’t actually dead it all makes sense. Oh Lila. I’m not sure I like her, I understand her, but like? So we find out that she faked her own death, letting her bodyguard/body double die in her place, and her reason was because she didn’t think the rebellion was a big enough cause for her to die for. It sounds self centred but she recovers by saying that she too was a pawn (hahaha see what I did there) but for her mother who wants to be Prime Minister and stop the murdering of innocents. It just sounded like Ceila was being a coward and didn’t want to put her life on the line, and I’m not sure that she can fully be trusted. For a rebellion that is against the unnecessary killing of individuals they fight death with death. Both forces in my eyes are as bad as each other, which is why Kitty grew on me. Especially after her speech in New York.

Not everyone’s prepared to die for the greater good, all right? We can’t all be heroes.
Lila Hart | Pawn

The idea of people being masked isn’t necessarily unique, but it was written so well and the way it was interwoven into the details of this world were riveting. Augusta is a piece of work, and I am glad that Kitty made her into holy cheese. She would do anything for power, but the fact that she truly believed her mission was right just blew me away. So misguided by power and the need to control that her obsession with family falters.  Replacing her son with a V just so her grandson doesn’t have to be an orphan seems heartfelt but I don’t know. I never felt like she truly cared about anybody but herself, and the whole ‘I’m doing it for family’ just seemed like a scapegoat. Glad she’s dead is all i’m saying.

There isn’t a love triangle in this one, Kitty is pretty dedicated to Benjy although I’m pretty sure she wavers a bit given that Knox is awesome. It would be so hard to see the one you love have the face of a stranger, and to have the face you love on a stranger. I felt for both Benjy and Knox for this reason. Given that Kitty has to continue to pretend to be Lila i’m pretty sure there might be more slipping to the Knox side, which I would like to see. I did love Benjy but I felt like I missed out on his and Kitty’s history, and although we do get glimpses we don’t start anew like we do with Knox.

Greyson will surely play a more prominent role in the future, I think he would make a great leader. But I could see him going all nuts given how fractured his family is. He invents things too, which is pretty awesome.

There were questions at the end of the book as well. And I am one of those cool kids that answered them, cause I do that. Cause I like thinking, whatevers. You should do the same and then we can discuss 😀

I am stuck on this idea of escape. Everybody wants to in a version that is uniquely to themselves which I just found so incredibly, again, interesting. Gosh! Love this world, and I need the next one.

meg3

8 thoughts on “ARC: Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #1) by Aimee Carter

  1. Okay, well I didn’t read past the spoiler warning, but I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I read Carter’s first book in her Goddess Test series, and was rolling my eyes the entire time. It was a pretty horrible experience haha. I wanted to give her a second chance with this book (plus my sister is a fan and wanted me to test it out for her…) so I requested on NetGalley. I just got the email this morning that I was approved!

    I was really nervous about reading it, but now I’m a bit more excited to get into this one. Let’s hope I enjoy it as much as you did!

  2. Hello blogger, i found this post on 19 spot in google’s search results.

    I’m sure that your low rankings are caused by hi bounce rate.
    This is very important ranking factor. One of the biggest reason for high bounce rate is
    due to visitors hitting the back button. The higher your bounce rate the further
    down the search results your posts and pages will end up, so having reasonably low bounce rate is
    important for increasing your rankings naturally.
    There is very handy wordpress plugin which can help you.
    Just search in google for:
    Seyiny’s Bounce Plugin

Leave a Reply

