Emerald Green (The Precious Stone Trilogy, #3) by Kerstin Gier

17343391Book Synopsis:
First published 8th December 2010 by Arena
Translated by Anthea Bell | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is. She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.

This stunning conclusion picks up where Sapphire Blue left off, reaching new heights of intrigue and romance as Gwen finally uncovers the secrets of the time-traveling society and learns her fate.

Book Review: 5 stars
images-1


~ This review contains spoilers ~

As the star dies, the eagle arises supreme,
Fulfilling his ancient and magical dream.
For a star goes out in the sky above,
If it freely chooses to die for love.

I do truly hope I have a marzipan heart, because I’m not sure if i’ll ever be able to get over this series. What an epic conclusion of major proportions! This riveting conclusion to the Precious Stone Trilogy will have you laughing, weeping, grinning throughout all of its moments and we finally get all the answers we’ve been waiting for.

Heart-BreakSo we kick off right after the heart snapping where Gwen finds out that Gideon, oh Gideon, had only been ‘pretending’ to be interested in her and that their love was more of a ploy to control her. Not his idea, because we all know those sexist remarks belong to Count-immortality-say-whaaat? And yet Gideon somewhat agreed. Just no. Of course this tiff doesn’t last forever and Gwen does get a good yelling match in there, especially when Gideon said that they should just be friends. Again NO! I must admit though that redeeming himself is one of Gideon’s finer qualities, he just makes it so easy for you not to hate him for very long. And I loved the reason behind his facade!

The letters that he received from Paul reveal the missing prophesies that the Count- not-really-a-Count was trying to conceal from the Guardians. So we find out that when the circle is closed the Count will become immortal, again. Pretty much it was a whole lot of BS that once the twelve were read into the chronograph all the diseases in the world would be cured (obviously we all saw that coming). Instead the chronograph would reveal the philosophers stone so that the Count could become immortal, again.

The prophesies reveal that the Count won’t be immortal anymore once Gwen is born, which begs the question how did he become immortal in the first place? From my understanding Gideon gives the Count the elixir at the end of the book when he travels back in time, after he closes the second chronograph. He sort of haves to given how time travel works. If the Count never became immortal then none of their past would have happened, and no Gwen and Gideon loving goodness. This being said it meant that the Count was still alive in Gwen’s time, meaning that the Count got a whole lot of plastic surgery and now is Mr. Whitman. Which, besides the plastic surgery bit..ouch, makes sense. Given how much of an A-hole Mr. Whitman is to Gwen.

0But Mr.Whitman/Count needs to kill Gwen so that he can become immortal again. Unfortunately Gwen can’t die unless it is by her own hand because she too is immortal, that is the magic of the raven. And of course we couldn’t have Gwen living out her days and then losing Gideon, so he drinks down some philosopher stone dust (that they got from the first chronograph after the circle was complete) and he too becomes immortal. I’m not really sure how I feel about this revelation, but at least I know they’ll be together forever.

I still have a few questions though. Who wrote the freaking prophesies? And I thought the Count constructed the chronographs? Therefore he would have had to put parts of the philosopher stone in each…could have just taken it. I’m guessing though that the blood of the twelve creates the immortal dust. But what will happen now to the Count? I vote to kill him, i’m just saying. Don’t lock him up with a chance to escape, he deserves no such luxury. Sexist pig.

This being said Giers writing is truly amazing! I do feel satisfied, which never happens with the end of series. I loved how Gideon ended up being the one who actually hit him over the head, how the key Gwen stole in Ruby Red was brought back,  and how Lucas used Anna Karenina to help Gwen unravel the mysteries. That book is truly one of my all time favourites. I just feel like major plot lines were all completed in such a unique and nice way. Of course many parts of this series are easy to guess, like Paul and Lucy being Gwens parents, but this doesn’t take away any of the enjoyment.

Xemerius was witty as ever and the fact that he spews water when he gets frustrated or scared, hilarious! He was able to keep this humorous balance, rather sarcastic which I loved as well, especially when Gwen was crying a river every few chapters.  I am happy that Lesley received her happy ending, and that she made Raphael work for it.

Of course I must discuss Charlotte, who I still believe to be a bitch. Even though I know Gier tries to redeem her at Cynthia’s party, I just felt sorry for her. Ok maybe a little bit of my heart broke, but being in love with Gideon will do that to you. Aunt Glenda is a real piece of work, so it doesn’t surprise me that I still don’t like Charlotte.

tumblr_mrq6qh7wAE1qimfrko1_250

Madame Rossini, Oh gosh! I would love to experience her studio. Which gives me the opportunity to make the fine point of Giers true talent. She is able to immerse you in each time period with the smallest of detail. Whether that be through a garment or particular expression. Her talent is truly, whole heartedly, amazing.

If I haven’t mentioned it before, just kidding I know I have, I love Gideon! I think he is amazing, even though he can be an ass. I find it exciting, so what? His moments with Gwen were always sweetly riveting. And yes I am a bit disappointed that my predictions of his mind reading powers turned out to be false, even the Count had no such ability. He was merely perceptive, thanks to some Tibetan monks. To that conclusion I just go, ok Gier. Its your masterpiece.

This book was truly phenomenal, such an amazing ending with twists that surprised me! Pick this one up, you need it. Your life won’t be complete without it.

meg3

Other books in this series (click on the cover to take you to our review)…

8835379 images

3 thoughts on “Emerald Green (The Precious Stone Trilogy, #3) by Kerstin Gier

  1. I just finished it ! I must say I absolutely loved the whole serie. It was utterly addictive. I totally agree with everything you wrote (that’s a very good review). Though I must had that in my opinion the story was cut short. I mean, don’t we get to see a little of what happen after ?

    We do, indeed get a lot of answer at the end of the third book but there is still some holes, I might say. For instance : how did the chronograph ended up in Gwen’s house ? How is are she and Mr.Bernard actually related ? What’s going to happen to Gideon and Gwen now that there are both immortal ?

    How I wish I could met Kerstin Gier to ask her all those questions ! ^^ Do you think there are any chance that there be a sequel to those books ?

Leave a Reply

