Hourglass (Hourglass #1) by Myra McEntire

9182478Book Synopsis:

Published June 14th 2011 by Egmont USA | 390 pages |Hourglass

One hour to rewrite the past . . .

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.

So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may also change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should’ve happened?

Review: 3.5 stars

Fun fact about me; I love time travel. It’s such a cool, complex and crazy concept that absolutely fascinates me! I’ve been pretty excited to check this one out for awhile. So when I received a copy for review of the third Hourglass novel, I figured now was the perfect time to pick up the first book. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations. Don’t get me wrong; I DID really like Hourglass! I thought the plot and time travel aspects of it were all really well developed and interesting BUT I didn’t like the romance between Emerson and Michael. The romance in this story seriously let the rest of the book down.

For several years now, Emersotitlen has seen ghosts and believes she’s certifiably crazy. But then one day Michael, the hot consultant, walks into her life and turns everything upside down. He opens up a world of possibilities and craziness; time travel. Michael needs Emerson’s help to go back in time and right a wrong without affecting the future. It was SO COOL. I though the time travel in this book was awesome! It was a very complex process that involved a lot of scientific principles and several elements to make it work which made for a very interesting read. The use of terms like “wormhole”, “exotic matter” and the “Novikov Principle” made it seem like time travel was an actual possibility and got me all excited (if science says it’s real than it must be, right?). I was totally enthralled! Then the ending! Oh man, I didn’t expect that ending at all. It was definitely a shocker. A really great shocker!

But I was not in love with the romance in this story. It had all the lame and cheesy moments of YA romances and they weren’t even done that well; there was insta-love, actual electric sparks, a lame love triangle and “I would die for you” moments after a week…Um no. Just stop. Please. I don’t like this stuff in my romances, it didn’t feel natural or real and I honestly didn’t feel any chemistry between the two characters. It was very lackluster. Then there was that stupid love triangle! It didn’t make any sense! I don’t really understand why Kaleb, an empath, would go after the girl who his best friend is in love with. Especially when that best friend is trying to save his family! Obviously Kaleb can tell how they both feel and, from everything else that we learn about his character, I genuinely don’t think he would be such an ass. It just didn’t fit with the story and the characters! But this was the only part of the book that I disliked, I thought everything else was great.

For those who have read tbabysharks-minority-report-time-travel1his trilogy (or at least the second book) I really want to know what you guys thought of the second book. I looked at the synopsis of it and noticed that it changes to Kaleb’s point of view which doesn’t make a lot of sense to me! Emerson still has so much unfinished business and I want to see a continuation of her story, not move on to a different character. I’m skeptical about how this next book is going to turn out and very hesitant to pick it up. Gahhh I just don’t know! Right now I don’t like the idea of it. I’ve checked out some reviews but there are very mixed reactions out there so please let me know what you think! 🙂

images

145543301450405011013

 

 

p.s. I found this while I was looking on Google for fun pictures of time travel to put in this post:

http://www.strangerdimensions.com/2012/03/22/are-these-images-proof-of-real-time-travel/

IT’S ALL REAL!! 😛

5 thoughts on “Hourglass (Hourglass #1) by Myra McEntire

  1. I have got the third book in this series, not read the first two yet though, hoping I will just be able to jump to the third and if I enjoy it read the first two, nice review 🙂

  2. I really like the concept – and the cover! Do I really need to start another series – and in fact do I even need to think about that question! I actually need to finish all the unfinished series on my shelves – perhaps I need to make an early NY Resolution.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

