Top 10 Best & Worst Series Enders

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, check out their original post and join in!

Top 5 BEST Series Enders:

136251930767413536860965960715745371

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) by J.K. Rowling:
    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS ENDING. I thought that final epilogue was so great! After years of following this series all I wanted was to see a happy ending and when I got that, it was just brilliant 🙂 Also, just like WOW! Everything in this book was awesome; fighting Voldemort, finding the horcruxes, breaking into Gringotts! This one was my fave… So I just went to my book shelf to weirdly, but lovingly, stroke the cover and noticed it cost $45 apparently. There is no other book that I would’ve spent $45 on and gone to the bookstore at midnight to buy.
  2. The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl #8) by Eoin Colfer
    EPIC ENDING! I actually haven’t read this series in ages and don’t really remember a lot of it so  I might re-read it soon but, this is what I do know- EPIC ENDING.
  3. Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades #3) by E. L. James
    Yes I read and loved this. I thought the ending was the perfect ending to what had been a pretty crazy ride! The characters had grown up enormously and it was just another awesome happy ending that made me smile and feel all happy inside.
  4. The Iron Knight (The Iron Fey #4) by Julie Kagawa
    Love this author and loved this book! It was just as full of adventure and craziness as the first and wrapped everything up really nicely. If you haven’t read this series before, please check it out because its amazing!
  5. Chosen at Nightfall (Shadow Falls #5) by C. C. Hunter
    I just really loved this series and it ended on a really lovely note. The drama in this final book, the mystery, the love story and all the side stories just made for a really fun read that I definitely enjoyed.

Top 5 WORST Series Enders:

157242324934569593913116254313573795

  1. Toxic Part 1 (Celestra series #7) by Addison Moore:
    Ok so I haven’t actually read the last book but I read the second last book and it was awful 😡 I have so much anger towards that second last book Toxic Part 1. It was so disappointing too because the books didn’t start out all that great but I stuck with them and they were getting better, then BAM! They just blew it all. If you want to know why I disliked it so much, then check out my review here.
  2. Extras (Uglies #4) by Scott Westerfeld:
    I loved the first book so much! I thought the second and third book were really good too but then we have the fourth book… I didn’t really get the point of the fourth book, it was a totally different protagonist and was set several years down the track. I read it a few years ago but I remember being unimpressed by Extras. I didn’t dislike it but I thought it was an odd ending to the series.
  3. Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver:
    When I wrote my review for Requiem, I actually said that I liked the ending and at the time I did. But since then it’s really hit me that Requiem is actually all I’m getting and suddenly it’s just irritating me a lot. I want to know how the revolution went in other parts of the world, I want to know what happened to Hana, I want to know what happened to Julian, I want to know about Lena and Alex’s renewed relationship, I WANT TO KNOW MORE. Even without the ending, the whole book as a whole just wasn’t as great as the first two were.
  4. Breaking Dawn (Twilight #4) by Stephenie Meyer:
    I just think that we should have stopped at three. Loved the first three, and I don’t think that four was as good.
  5. Ceaseless (Existence Trilogy #3) by Abbi Glines
    While I do love a happy ending, this book helped me realise that a happy ending does not always a good story make. This one was too predictable and didn’t really run on from the other two, it honestly could have been a standalone book and was just a really weird ending for a trilogy. Seriously, why would you write a final book like that?

 

Going through the books I’ve read, I’ve discovered something very disturbing; I have not finished a lot of series. Oh dear. I might have to get on that.

Let me know what you think!

Happy reading,

145543301450405011013

 

18 thoughts on “Top 10 Best & Worst Series Enders

  1. I haven’t finished a lot of series, either, and I really realised that when doing this week’s Top Ten topic, haha. I also need to get more reading done!
    I am seeing Breaking Dawn on heaps of people’s lists this week! I really don’t think it was that bad, but then again I never loved the twilight series, so I suppose I wasn’t super invested in the ending, haha.
    Other than that one, I haven’t read any of the books on your list :O I am so behind! I just need to speed read over the holidays, obviously!
    My Top Ten post 🙂

    • Ah no I was so disappointed by Breaking Dawn! Someone actually borrowed my Breaking Dawn book and then never returned it. On the one hand, I’m so mad someone took my book from me! But on the other hand, I think it was fate because I don’t really want it sitting on my shelf anyway.
      And I think we’re all behind, there are just too many great books to read.

      • I can’t believe they never returned your book D: That’s so dodgy. 😦
        Haha, mine is actually being used as a structure to prop up a bag in my wardrobe. It’s not looking too good!
        I know, right. I want to read so many books, and it’s kind of depressing to think that I probably won’t, because more keep being released every week D:

  2. I agree with the Iron Knight and everyone seems to be putting Requiem on their worst list, i was thinking about starting Delirium but i’m not so sure now. I also was really disappointed with Breaking Dawn and the end of Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series, though i never got around to reading Extras.

    • I still really like the other Delirium books but the ending was really open ended which just upset a lot of people. So I would still recommend it but be prepared.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. I really struggled with this week’s post- I have 5 in total- but I’m glad to see we both have Harry Potter at #1 for best series ending. Deathly Hallows is definitely worth the $45 you paid for it too! 🙂

  4. Totally agree with Harry Potter 😀 LOVE that book…. can’t believe it cost you that much? Think mine was like £18, can’t believe that my parents let me spend that much on a book…but then again it was sooo important to me :L and although it was a GREAT ending i still wish it had never ended D:

    • Right! I was pretty surprised by that price too! It seems a bit weird.. I got it in Canada though and maybe that’s normal there? I don’t know, probably not. Not that it really matters now anyway I guess, it’ll always just be one of the great mysteries of my life (my life is obviously thrilling).

  5. Pingback: And they all lived happily ever after, didn’t they?? | Lynn's Book Blog

  6. It’s Tuesday – and I’ve posted!! Wonders will never cease. You know it was pretty difficult coming up with my answers because I have so many unfinished series! Agree with Harry Potter and Breaking Dawn.

Leave a Reply

