The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1) by Julie Kagawa

cover23530-mediumBook synopsis:
377 pages |  The Lost Prince

Don’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them.

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

Review: 4.5 stars

A big, BIG thank you to Harlequin Limited for this ARC!!

artwork_dani_and_goblins_1958x1154ANOTHER amazing, magical, fantastic and fast-paced book from Julie Kagawa! … I think that the byline of this blog should be changed from “Reading is Definitely a Thing” to “Julie Kagawa’s fan club”. Pretty sure we’ve reviewed all her books and they have all received at least 4 stars…. Well, The Lost Prince follows this trend, it was INCREDIBLE!

Do we all remember little Ethan Chase from The Iron Fey books? Well he’s all grown up and is now one “handsome jerk”. I wasn’t sure how I would do with a solely male narrator, I’ve only read one book told from an entirely male PoV before and I found that he often came off sounding a bit like a 13 year old girl at times (Beautiful Creatures). But no, I was not at all irritated! I LOVED ETHAN! He definitely has a distinctly male voice, he’s protective, troubled, bad ass and he hates the fey. But really, who can blame him? The fey are awful, mischievous creatures who make his life hell. He’s had to distance himself from everyone around him and been labelled ‘the bad boy’. So when Ethan starts at a new school (again), all he wants to do is keep his head down and stay out of trouble. But being a Chase, that obviously doesn’t work. The fey once again drag him into their crazy world, I want to feel bad for him but I’m glad they did because now I get to read all about his amazing adventures!!

12614410This adventure is awesome. But what else did I really expect? Julie Kagawa continues to amaze me with her imagination and ability to write action-packed stories! We got to see a lot of old characters like Meghan, Ash, Grim, Razor and PUCK! I loved getting an insight into these characters life a few years done the road.

But more important are the new main characters. I was a little concerned about what they would be like, would they be able to live up to the legacy of Meghan, Ash and Puck!? The answer is yes! A big fat YES. I love the new characters; Ethan, Kenzie, Annwyl and Kierran (I was especially excited to meet Kierran!!). Better yet, they’re all very different from previous characters in The Iron Fey series which is awesome! I love this diversity of personalities and can’t wait to see more. I’m especially curious about Kierran, he seems like he could be trouble… but surely not? Hmm…. I guess I’ll have to read the next book soon!

Overall this is another fantastic book that I would recommend in a heart beat! READ IT!

UnknownBUY BOOK

145543301450405011013

 

 

Other series by Julie Kagawa (click on the cover to see our review)…

The Iron Fey:

6644117774706486856129659607

Blood of Eden:

1021534913581990

 

 

Leave a Reply

