Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

5996153Book synopsis:

Published August 25th 2009 by Razorbill | 503 pages

Rose Hathaway’s life will never be the same.

The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose’s neck, a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters . . . Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?

Review: 4 stars

I’m a little bit irritated by this book because I think that it could have been great! And there were parts of it that were amazing, but there were also a few things that really annoyed me…

The Negatives:

Oh my god. I wanted this book to be great so badly, I was so ready to give it 5 stars but the first half of Blood Promise was just not great.

So it starts out with Rose heading to Siberia because Mason told her that’s where Dimitri was heading. Well I didn’t remember Mason saying anything before he went off to be in a better place, so I went back and read the end of Shadow Kiss to check… Do you know what I didn’t read? Mason telling Rose to go to Siberia!! This irritates me like nothing else!!! YOU CAN’T DO THAT! You can’t just make stuff up! I honestly really enjoyed the change in scenery but I wish it had come about in a more logical way.

There were also several parts in the book which added nothing to the story except to make it longer…

  1. Rose’s memories of her time with Dimitri. I found these scenes to be a bit wishy-washy and they didn’t impress me or make me swoon at all.
  2. Rose also spent considerable time in Lissa’s head. I hated these scenes. They were underdeveloped, totally unnecessary and felt really rushed. The whole thing with Avery really didn’t make a lot of sense to me and the bit in the end seemed to happen very rapidly. One minute it was all good and then BAM! Shit was going down, which would have been fine but there really wasn’t any lead-up. This little sub-plot that Lissa had going on was completely unnecessary and I skipped over most of it.

The Positives

Now onto what I loved! Even though the above did really irritate me, I obviously loved most of the book since I still gave it 4 stars.

So what did I love? WELL…strigoi_dimitri___ancient_by_shinhbang-d4u65rd

  • Rose in Siberia! I loved the change in scenery away from the Academy. I thought it was an awesome break and loved reading all about Russian architecture.
  • The new characters. Because I know about Bloodlines, I was so excited when Sydney got introduced! She and the whole Alchemist thing sound awesome so I can’t wait to learn more about her.
  • Dimitri. Is it wrong that I almost found him more attractive in this book? What can I say, he is rocking the bad boy thing… Although he’s still wearing that leather coat…
  • Basically every interaction between Rose and Dimitri. Oh man, I thought the whole thing was written BRILLIANTLY! If this book didn’t have the previous negatives I mentioned then this would have been 5 stars for sure! Rose’s reaction to the whole situation was great, I felt for her so much!
  • The bridge scene. My favourite scene in the whole book. It was so action-packed, tense, sad and just plain awesome.
  • The NOTE. Another great ending! After all the disappointment of the first half, I was still left hungry for more at the end.

Can’t wait to see what the 5th book has in store for me!!!

20121221-161414.jpgBuy book!

145543301450405011013

Previous books in the series (click on the cover to see the review):

643283822821332802316

 

 

7 thoughts on “Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

  1. I flew through all of these as well. I don’t remember Mason being the one to tell her to go to Siberia. I thought that she went there because she thought he might have gone back to his roots. But, anyway: I absolutely loved this series. So so so so good! Probably one of my favorites. I agree with you when it comes to Rose being in Lissa’s head so much- I honestly didn’t like the Avery subplot. And I have to admit: I bawled when Rose told Dmitri’s family! Glad you still loved the book!

  2. I thought she went to Siberia because that’s where his family was… I’m going to have to look at that again… I do hate it when facts don’t line up…

Leave a Reply

