Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1) by Kerstin Gier

8835379Book Synopsis:
Published May 10 2011 by Henry Holt
322 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Book Review: 4.5 stars

“You were talking to that niche in the wall again, Gwyneth. I saw you.”
“Yes, but it’s my favorite bit of wall, Gordon. I’d hurt its feelings if I didn’t stop and talk to it.”
Gwyneth | Ruby Red

Have you ever been so desperate to read a book that you decide to wake up early and go to your bookstore first thing so that you can get your hands on it? Well for Ruby Red I did. The only problem was that I live in the land down under and seriously had a massive blonde moment…well day. Amazon didn’t have a kindle copy, and my bookstore didn’t have a copy either. So instead of just ringing around to try and see if other stores had it, I drove. To every bookstore in my city, because I couldn’t wait. And no.one.had.it. So I ordered it from the bookdepository when I got home after my day of fun filled driving. But do not fret, because it was so worth the wait!

rubinrot_german_movie-2048x2048I have read a few translated books before, and this was one of the better ones. The translation was done rather beautifully so that as a reader you never felt like it was even published in another language prior. And let me just say that the actual book is gorgeous. The cover art is so pretty, and within the pages there are little family trees and quotes from various texts so that you can see how everything is connected between the past and the present. Especially the excerpts taken from the Guardians journals. I breezed through this book and am so glad that I ordered the second one at the same time. Who am I kidding, I ordered the whole trilogy.

The story suggests the occurrence of a time travelling gene within two distinct family lines. You don’t know if you have the gene until you turn sixteen and start to take uncontrolled trips back in time. Gwyneth wasn’t meant to have the gene, her cousin Charlotte was always expected to have it. And so had gone through the extensive training to prepare her for her ‘destiny.’ But no, Gwyneth has it because her mother lied about her date of birth. There is a whole lot of time travelling mythology that surrounds this book which is incredibly interesting and well written. Its got adventure, romance, historical significance, mystery it was incredible.

I must admit that I did watch the dubbed English movie version before reading this book. And as a consequence I did find that the book cut off way too soon, given the ending of the movie. This being said the movie is quite close to the book, although I do think a few scenes are out of order. Regardless I love the premise for this trilogy.

I highly recommend Ruby Red and if you don’t want to be spoiled please don’t continue reading, but you need to go and get your hands on a copy!

Unknown

BUY BOOK

Lets Discuss:

I’m in love with this book! The main character Gwyneth was such a delight, so witty and sarcastic but also truly rose to the responsibilities that were placed upon her. My favourite scene was when she was trying to remember the Latin password but she kept on forgetting it every 5 seconds, so funny. And how she was singing the national anthem in her mind to keep the Count out GOD! I love her!

film-clip-exklusiv-rubinrot-2-7ij0-S5GmI do understand why her mother lied about her date of birth, the opportunity for your daughter to lead a normal life without the brainwashing of the Guardians is something no one would want their child to go through. And yet I have a sneaky feeling that Gwyneth might not actually belong to Grace, but to Lucy and Paul. Its at the end of the book, like the last few pages when Lucy and Paul are discussing how much Gwyneth looks like the both of them and I was like NO! Does this mean that Gideon and Gwyneth are related? I’m pretty sure it does, but like distantly distantly related. Too far back for their kids to look like aliens, related. I’ve looked into this because I was shaking my head too much at the possibility that they were. There is too much separation in their family lines, but when they find out…ooooooo.

Gideon. Oh Gideon. I’m very conflicted over him. Everything happens in such a short amount of time, and this is why I’m a bit like ahhh. Maybe Gideon was never truly interested in Charlotte, and only got along because they had known each other throughout their training. But if this isn’t true he twisted his emotions to focus on Gwyneth quite quickly. And on a side note i’m pretty sure he is able to read FREAKING MINDS like Count-needs to be assassinated yesterday-Germain. Count Saint-Germain is creepy as shit and like strangled Gwyneth who didn’t say anything about it. Tell someone that their praised leader from back in whenever tried to strangle you with his mind girl! You can’t ignore that. Just like you can’t ignore that he has a side kick who looks like a vampy, and is from Transylvania. Something iffy is definitely going on there. Anyway on the family tree you can see that Gideon is a direct descendent from the Count, but if that wasn’t enough sometimes he just says things that your like ‘oh wait, I was just thinking that.’ And Gwyneth didn’t ask him, silly girl. Also Gideon never sleeps, so maybe he has whatever the Count has that allows him to age slowly.

20356316.jpg-r_640_600-b_1_D6D6D6-f_jpg-q_x-xxyxxThis book is a whole lot more intricate then I thought it would be. Its, again, really interesting to see the family relationships across time and how some are trying to protect the secret and others are trying to break it. Its probably something to do with immortality, given the mention of the Philosophers Stone. And I desperately want to know how Lucy and Paul know what might happen if the chronograph gets all twelve time travellers blood! How do they know?! I also don’t understand why they can’t travel into the future, even though it was explained that they couldn’t because the future hasn’t happened yet. But how can they be so sure given the concept of a time line. Why is the present now, when there is mention of a future Gwyneth possibly travelling back to help Lucy and Paul….its confusing. Is time a circle? or can they change the past? Because I’m pretty sure the Count is still alive, or at least we were eluded  to this fact. So he must be immortal, which means that somewhere in the future someone gives him the Philosophers stone.

All of the characters were well written, and truly stood on their own. This may be because I already had an idea of them because I have seen the movie, but I honestly think it is Giers writing. Lesley is such an awesome friend who completely accepts Gwyneth with all her oddness, and she googles everything to help her out with coming to terms with the weirdness that has now become her life.

I can’t recommend this book even more! You need to read it!

meg3

Other books in this series (click on the cover to take you to our review)…

images17343391

3 thoughts on “Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1) by Kerstin Gier

  1. Ooh this book looks really good, cannot remember if it is already on my TBR pile (let’s be honest it is so big, it can no longer be called a list), but it will be added straight away 🙂

  2. Pingback: October 2013 YA Books to Obsess Over | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

