Booking Through Thursday, #3

AwT5_kxCEAE6YEJ.png-large

 

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb about mostly books and reading. This weeks question is:

Are “best” and “favorite” the same thing? If someone asked you “What’s the best book you ever read?” would the answer be the same as for “What’s your favorite?”

I’d say they are the same, at least in my eyes they are. I don’t have a favourite book, but I have favourite books…with the S to make it plural. And if I was going to tell somebody what a favourite book of mine was, it would probably be because it was one of the better ones i’d read so therefore a “best” book. For me “favourite” and “best” go hand in hand, you can’t have one without the other.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday, #3

  1. I think “best” for me means the quality and merit of the writing. Like, I would call Fahrenheit 451 one of the “best” books I’ve read. It’s critically altered who I am and how I see things – the same with To Kill a Mockingbird and Ender’s Game.

    But “favorite” means that I don’t care if it’s total cheese-balls, or the plot is cliche, or the characters are trope-riddled – I just loved it anyway. I think that would be The Mortal Instruments for me right now. It’s not a favorite series YET, but it’s heading there, and it’s one that I can easily lose myself in just for the pure enjoyment of a book.

    And then there’s the books that blend “best” and “favorite” together – the ultimate book! Angelfall is one of those for me, out of the books I’ve read recently. Another one would be The Chronicles of Narnia series – they changed my life, and they’re great stories besides that!

  2. I like your answer and enjoyed reading it, though I disagree 🙂 But that’s what makes discussing books so interesting! Some of my favorite books aren’t particularly well-written and wouldn’t be considered “best” anything but they hold special memories. Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

