ARC: Waterfell (The Aquarathi #1) by Amalie Howard

17397760Book synopsis:

Publication October 29th 2013 | Harlequin Teen

THE GIRL WHO WOULD BE QUEEN

Nerissa Marin hides among teens in her human form, waiting for the day she can claim her birthright—the undersea kingdom stolen from her the day her father was murdered. Blending in is her best weapon—until her father’s betrayer confronts Nerissa and challenges her to a battle to the death on Nerissa’s upcoming birthday—the day she comes of age.

Amid danger and the heartbreak of her missing mother, falling for a human boy is the last thing Nerissa should do. But Lo Seavon breaches her defenses and somehow becomes the only person she can count on to help her desperate search for her mother, a prisoner of Nerissa’s mortal enemy. Is Lo the linchpin that might win Nerissa back her crown? Or will this mortal boy become the weakness that destroys her?

Review: 3.5 stars

I received this ARC from Harlequin Teen via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, many thanks!

People, strap yourself in for a ride because this book is full of twist and turns that will definitely excite and surprise you. Do you think this book is going to be about mermaids? Well you are WRONG! BAM first surprise right there. I assumed based on the appearance of the cover and the vague reference to an undersea kingdom in the synopsis that this was a mermaid book. But what I got instead was so much better!

This is not a typical stosea monsterry about a hot mermaid, no Nerissa is a terrifying sea monster, or an Aquarathi. The Aquarathi are what haunts the dark depths of the oceans and inspires nightmares. Best of all they’re not even native to Earth. That’s right, alert the media, aliens have taken over our oceans! Be careful though, because they can manipulate the water in their body to change form and blend in on land. This is how Nerissa, heir to the throne of Waterfell and leader of her people, blends in on land. But Nerissa doesn’t want to be queen of the Aquarathi, she wants to hide away from her duties and responsibilities. However Nerissa will soon realise that she can’t hide forever and that eventually her destiny will catch up with her.

I’ve never read anything like this before, and I loved that originality! The story was a little slow to start and I got pretty bored during the beginning. But keep reading because once the action started to pick up, it really got interesting! I was shocked by some of the stuff that Amalie Howard threw my way, there were moments that literally made me gasp out loud and drop my jaw. Pay careful attention when reading this one, there is some fishy stuff going on!

In my opinion, the relationsbeautiful-best-friends-bff-friends-Favim.com-590243hip that really shined in this book was Nerissa’s friendship with Jenna rather than the romance with Lo. Jenna is an amazing friend and great character! She’s a fun, normal, and really relatable character, but best of all she is 100% there for her friend. She’s the one that changes and influences Nerissa to be a better person. Usually in YA fiction, it’s seems to always be the guy that’s there for the female protagonist, giving her strength and saving her from trouble. That’s not always the case in Waterfell and I found this really refreshing!

But never fear, there is a little romance in Waterfell. The hot male hero comes inkisscoupleloveoceanunderwaterfantasy-a9ec7dd88ad90b174b146aaba59f7f4a_h the form of Lo, the very attractive surfer boy who transfers to Nerissa’s school and completely entrances her. Nerissa and Lo had some cute and sweet moments but the majority of their romance was Nerissa being an absolute bitch and Lo putting up with it. I’m sorry, are we in preschool? Unfortunately I will not be adding Lo to my favourite book boyfriends. I just didn’t really connect to him until the very end of the book, and even then my interest in him wasn’t very strong. I’m hoping that in the next book I’ll be able to learn a little bit more about Lo and learn to love him but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Overall I really enjoyed this book. I almost want to give it 4 stars but I don’t think it’s quite there, nevertheless I’ll definitely be on the look out for the next book in the series!

3-5-stars

Buy book

Leave a Reply

