ARC: Undertow (Undertow, #1) by K.R. Conway

18301716Book Synopsis:
Published October 4th 2013 by Conway
398 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Luckless Eila is unknowingly the last of her kind: Rare. Gifted. Breakable. Stunning Raef is her kind’s historic enemy: Soulless. Lethal. Lost. A legendary death 160 years before would set their lives to collide, forcing a beautiful killer to become a savior, a simple wallflower to become a warrior, and ruthless destiny to become a death sentence.

Book Review : 3.5 stars

~ I received a copy of Undertow from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Conway for providing me with the chance to do so. ~

Every last molecule of my design pulled me toward him, illogically, like an undertow, towards salvation…or potential death.
Eila | Undertow

Lets face it! I think we are all somewhat pessimistic when it comes to life. We put our wo-is me shoes on and curse the world for our misfortune, but if life was actually like a YA novel I’d probably be dead for one but more importantly life would suck a whole lot more. So the next time you feel like putting that cap filled with nasty thoughts on, just stop and think! Say to yourself , well geez at least i’m not facing down a bunch of soulless creatures who want my carcass spread out in front of them, life could be worse. Then do a little shrug and skip off on your merry way.

Drowning-wolves-33297948-499-481If you didn’t gather by now life pretty much began to suck for Eila throughout the course of Undertow. Ok well I think thats a bit of an exaggeration. The novel starts with Eila inheriting a mansion on the beach just plain out of the blue. I mean seriously, why not? She settles into life in Cape Cod quite comfortably making a few friends and gaining the interest of an uber hott (with a double t) guy known as Raef. But then crazy things start happening, like a person trying to pull her under when she gets pushed off a bridge.

I truly loved Conway’s writing style. I felt like I was there with the characters, experiencing what they were seeing and feeling. The world was built so vividly and I enjoyed the attention to detail in each of the characters. Eila as a main character however was too nice. She felt that she was becoming a burden since everyone was risking their lives for her, which undoubtedly was true but honey you don’t need to bring it up every few chapters. I just didn’t find her very unique, even though she did redeem herself quite a bit in the conclusion of the book. On a side note however, the romantic development between Eila and Raef was really nice to see and done rather beautifully, especially since you experience them as friends before they get all cosy. I find you rarely get to see that in YA, especially with the guy she’ll probably end up with. It was a nice change.

lovers1[1]My obsession with religion is borderline fanatic, so of course I yelped with delight at the religious lore present throughout this book. The soulless creatures are Mortis, who were created by a Fallen angel who mixed his blood with that of a human to try and create a super-charged army. It failed obviously but these humans became infected, and can infect others. The only way that they survive is by eating the souls of others, and once they kill their prey becomes a Mortis. On the good side we have the Lunaterra who are descendants of the Archangel who attempted to stop the Fallen one. They are genetically compatible enemies. Thats sort of AWESOME! Especially since the Mortis are like hellish vampires, except for Raef and his brother Kian (not really his brother) who where somehow ‘changed’ when Elizabeth saved the remaining Lunaterra 160 years ago. I did like the flash back to her Eila’s grandmother because it gave a higher purpose to there journey. And the fact that some of the story takes place on a boat, well that is an interesting twist.

My favourite character was probably Marsh, because he can turn into a freakin DOG and I love puppies. Ana and Kian were pretty cute as well, even though I’m pretty sure Kian was hitting on Eila for a while and I thought ‘oh no, here we go, bring out the stefan and daemon love triangle again.’ Well that didn’t happen, so proved me wrong. Damn you flirty mcflirt flirt Kian, with your manly charm and rocking bod. Who am I kidding, you know I can’t stay angry at you for long.

You should definitely check this one out when it’s released in October! You’ll be sucked under in an undertow of your very own.

3-5-starsBUY BOOK

Leave a Reply

