Indelible (The Twixt, #1) by Dawn Metcalf

12411687Book Synopsis:
Published July 30th 2013 by Harlequin Teen
384 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Some things are permanent. Indelible. And they cannot be changed back.
Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future…and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

Somewhere between reality and myth lies…THE TWIXT

Book Review: 3.5 stars

I received a copy of Indelible from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank Harlequin Teen for giving me the opportunity to do so.

Indelible is unique. Unique in the sense that I haven’t really read anything like it before, which is quite obviously the classification of the word ‘unique’. Metcalf has created a riveting modern fantasy tale entwined with creatures found only in your nightmares. This story will consume you and won’t let you go very easily.

I must admit up front though, that I still don’t have a solid understanding of what was truly going on. My interest in this book purely stems from the desire for everything to make sense, which I’m still not sure it does and yet I remain fascinated by this world. I love Metcalfs writing! It draws you in with such sheer brilliance and an eye for detail that the world seemed to lift off the pages. This being said I still had a few problems getting through it.

time-travel-evidenceFrom my understanding Ink and his sister Inq (which i couldn’t figure out how to say, so it ended up being Ink and his sister Ink) are Scribes. And Scribes soul purpose is to “scribe” signatura onto the Folk and humans so that a balance is maintained and everybody knows who everybody else belongs to. I’m not sure why but I think it has something to do with the idea that the human races time of being the dominant race may be over. It was confusing. But Ink was a pretty awesome character, even though I didn’t understand what the hell was going on. He could rip a whole through time and space and move through it like he was cutting a piece of cake. A pretty neat skill when he can take you to anywhere and no time passes in your real life. I also admired his willingness to become more human, but it unsettles me a bit the way he actually does this. So I am torn.

Let me explain. Since he wasn’t technically born, he just exists, so he doesn’t have a belly button or finger nails or a detailed ear. But when he begins to fall in love with Joy he becomes drawn to understanding more about the human world, which he never really bothered with before. It all sounds really sweet but after a rather intimate scene with Joy’s ear a few chapters after she notices that he has changed his own ears, and moulded them after hers. This happens again with a rather touching scene where he ends up with similar hands to hers. She finds this of course all very flattering, and I guess in a sense it bonds them but on the other hand my creepy radar is bleeping…loud.

a-rose-and-loversNow i’m going to put my sadistic cap on and say that the beginning of this book and how they met was freakin cool. He stabs her in the eye. Remember how I put my sadistic cap on, don’t judge. And because he misses, since he was supposed to make her blind because she has the ‘sight’, Joy now belongs to him. And in order for them both to not end up dead they must pretend that they are lovers. Which of course they eventually do become lovers, but in a rather insta-love kind of way. So insta-love in fact that you know she loves him after he takes her hand and Joy kind of goes, thats it! He’s the one. But nobody else can see him, because she has the ‘sight’. And there is this one scene where she is dancing in a club and they get all up close and personal. I don’t know about you, but I think i’d call the straight jacket people if I saw her dancing the way she was….when there was no one there. On the other hand if we ignore the fact that no one can see him, it was really hot!

Besides the fantasy elements, that again were confusing, the other story lines were really interesting and well written. You have Joy’s mother recently leaving, so her father and her relationship becomes strained. Stef, Joy’s brother, who has recently come out and of course the best friend Monica who is freakin amazing. Their friendship read with a sense of reality, which is always refreshing.

From what I understood of the lore it was a really interesting read, but overall its sort of a I loved some bits but other bits just confused me so much that I’m not sure my loved bits made sense. If that even makes sense? I’m incredibly torn, even though Metcalf has created such a mysterious and wonderful world where you can imagine yourself actually there.

3-5-stars

BUY BOOK

3 thoughts on “Indelible (The Twixt, #1) by Dawn Metcalf

  1. Your writing is entertaining, haha. The premise sounds so interesting, but I’m like you. I like things to make at least SOME sense. I’m not sure if I’ll try this out, but thanks so much for the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

