Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead

6432838Book synopsis:

Published August 16th 2007 by Razorbill | 340 pages

St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger…

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

Review: 3.5 stars

Before I start with the review, I just want to pause for a second and address the elephant in the room; was it just me or were there A LOT of similarities between this book and Jennifer Armentrout’s Covenant series!? Seriously, WTF?! I was massively shocked by the parallels between the two, I could dedicate an entire post to my rants about this. I know, I KNOW, that I can’t blame the Vampire Academy for these similarities because it was published before the other book but it still really bothered me and took my focus away from the story and the characters. If VA hadn’t been published before the Covenant series I probably wouldn’t have finished it because I don’t like reading stories that are so damn similar! I get that this is clearly a kick-ass idea that sells a lot of books and that they aren’t exactly the same, but there are enough similarities for it to really annoy me.

Anyways moving on.

Late last week, I was really conflicted about whether or not to read Vampire Academy (see the post here) and I am so glad that everyone who commented convinced me to give it a go! THANK YOU. OK, yes, this book has flaws but overall I really liked it and can see why people are so addicted to this series!!

I found that at times the writing could be quite confusing. It would sort of assume that I had knowledge of the story that hadn’t been mentioned before and wouldn’t be clarified until much later. I often found myself going “who the hell is [insert name here]?” or “what the heck is this or that?” because suddenly they’re just being casually mentioned in the narrative but won’t really be properly introduced until a chapter later. I think the idea was to create mystery and intrigue but it was a bit of a flop. There were moments when that worked, for example I liked that they just jumped straight into the story and described this supernatural world slowly. But there was too much of that happening and it was frustrating. However the appeal of the characters and the plot made up for it.

Characters like Rose. I adore Rose! She is snarky, flirty, sarcastic and pretty kick-ass. She doesn’t take shit from anybody and doesn’t give a damn what other people think of her. While she is overly protective of her best friend, Lissa, they’re friendship also felt very real to me. My one dilemma is the budding relationship between Dimitri and Rose. I have conflicted feeling about this one. She’s 17 and he’s 24… that’s not even legal in some parts of America! The rational part of me thinks it’s too pedo-y and creepy. But my rational brain can be such a loser sometimes! When Dimitri basically agrees with me, I was all “NOO you can make it work! Just give it a go and please for the love of God – KISS HER NOW.” I am seriously conflicted about this one but as you can probably tell I’m already addicted to this forbidden romance!

There is just something about this story that drew me in! I couldn’t put the book down. The book is not perfect but it has a very addictive quality to it as well! The plot is intriguing and the characters are fresh and fun to read about. I finished the first book in about 24 hours and immediately started the second. Plus I’ve  already gone out and bought myself the entire series. I think it’s fair to say I’m a little obsessed!

imagesBuy book!

9 thoughts on “Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead

  1. this series was good… but the spinoff series Bloodlines is way better… it just kind of sucks that it won’t make as much sense if you don’t read this series first…

  2. Pingback: Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

