The Iron Knight (Iron Fey #4) by Julie Kagawa

9659607Book Synopsis:

Published October 26th 2011 by Harlequin Teen | 361 pages


To cold faery prince Ash, love was a weakness for mortals and fools. His own love had died a horrible death, killing any gentler feelings the Winter prince might have had. Or so he thought.

Then Meghan Chase; a half human, half fey slip of a girl; smashed through his barricades, binding him to her irrevocably with his oath to be her knight. And when all of Faery nearly fell to the Iron fey, she severed their bond to save his life. Meghan is now the Iron Queen, ruler of a realm where no Winter or Summer fey can survive.

With the unwelcome company of his archrival, Summer Court prankster Puck, and the infuriating cait sith Grimalkin, Ash begins a journey he is bound to see through to its end; a quest to find a way to honor his vow to stand by Meghan’s side.

To survive in the Iron Realm, Ash must have a soul and a mortal body. But the tests he must face to earn these things are impossible. And along the way Ash learns something that changes everything. A truth that challenges his darkest beliefs and shows him that, sometimes, it takes more than courage to make the ultimate sacrifice.

Review: 4 magical stars

Another amazing, whimsical, adventurous and crazy story by Julie Kagawa. I love these books. I could rave about them for hours. Honestly, if you loved the previous Iron Fey books then there is no doubt in my mind you will love this story. The Iron Knight follows Ash on his quest to become mortal so he can be with Meghan. It gives all fans of the Iron Fey the happily ever after we so badly crave plus just an amazing action-packed story.

At the beginning of the book is a dedication that says “Team Ash, this one is for you.” Well if you read my review for The Iron Queen then you know that, while I love Ash and Meghan, I’m more on Team Puck. So for me, this book was really a chance for Ash to finally win me over to his side. But did he succeed? Well let’s do the math:

 

Appearance:

First let me paint the picture, this is how I picture them in my head:
        My Ash          1e9cb03cbc22b23237add735d3a3c379

AH both are just so fine (+1 point each).

 

Personality:

Ash:

Ash has always been so serious and dark which is the main reason why he’s not my top pick. In this book we learn a lot about his very dark and twisted past. Ash was not a good guy back in the day, like at all. BUT he’s matured a lot, even throughout this book. This quest helps him to move on from the past and mend his friendship with Puck which allows for a much lighter side of him to come through! I wish this wasn’t the final book because I would have loved to see more of the playful Ash. + 2 points

Puck:

We all know what a giant prankster Puck is! I seriously don’t think he has a serious bone in his body, well not many anyway. I personally love what a joker he is but sometimes it can be quite annoying. +1 point

 

Commitment to Meghan:

Ash:

Before this book I would never have questioned Ash’s love for Meghan, but there was a moment in the story where I wanted to slap Ash so hard. Someone returns in this book and the fall out of this return will be immense. Obviously, Ash makes the right decision in the end, but it was agonizing. In the end though his commitment and desire to always be by Meghan’s side is awe-inspiring! He literally goes to the end of the Earth, nearly dies many times, and goes through some really difficult trials just so he can be with her. Wow. That’s love. +3 points

Puck:

He loves her so much that he goes accompanies Ash on his quest just so Meghan can be happy!!! He goes through all of that even though he’ll never have her! THAT’S commitment. +9 points

 

Swoon-worthy statements:

Ash:

I think Ash has this section cornered. This boy is ah-mah-zing, he knows exactly what to say to make a lady swoon…

“You came back.”

Ash’s breath hitched, and he put his hand over mine.

“I came home.”

AWWWWW. Favourite line in the whole book. +5 points

Puck:

This is where Puck fails me.. he just isn’t as swoon-worthy as Ash is. +0 points

 

THE DECISION:

I can’t pick. Screw the numbers, I love them both so much! Ash and Meghan make the cutest couple but I would also have loved to see Puck get his happy ending too.

Screw it. I’m just going to be Team Grimalkin; I LOVE THAT CAT (and I’m not even a cat person).

Eurasian_lynx

I’m so glad that I don’t have to say good-bye to these characters forever and will see them again in Julie Kagawa’s spin-off series! I already own both the books in the Iron Fey: The Call of the Forgotten so get excited!

UntitledBuy book

Leave a Reply

