Origin (Lux #4), by Jennifer L. Armentrout

13644052Book synopsis:

Published August 27th by Entangled Publishing | 400 pages

~ ~ ~

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

Review: 4 ALIEN ADDICTED stars

Can we all just pause for a moment and applaud Ms. Armentrout? Seriously, applaud.

tumblr_lme7ybSScq1qii6tmo1_400If I had to describe this series in one word I would say – super-fantabulously-obsessively-AMAZING!! I worship the desk upon which Jennifer Armentrout writes, HOW DOES SHE DO IT!? I swear every book in this series has had me absolutely and completely hooked to every word. I honestly could go on for days about my love for this author, this story and these characters!! After that cliff-hanger at the end of Opal, I was definitely crazy excited to get my hands on this book! I had to wait FOREVER to get it but, for the most part, it didn’t disappoint.

Daemon Black, I LOVE YOU. True story.

tumblr_mbgcgg7ebX1riqizno1_250I loved the dual PoVs and finally getting fully inside Daemon’s head. Normally I’m not a huge fan of dual PoVs, I feel like they often ruin the flow of the storyline, but this one surprised me! Daemon’s sarcastic, self-obsessed and fiercely protective voice have turned me into his number 1 fan-girl.  I was glad to see that Daemon’s wittiness remained intact throughout this book, I was worried that he would become too seriousness after what happened with Katy, but Daemon remained true to himself. I love his back-and-forth banter with pretty much everyone, he provides great comedic relief and lightness. GAH I honestly can’t get enough of Daemon! But unfortunately he can never be mine 😦 This book made it abundantly clear just how much he loves Katy, like a desperate, all encompassing,  will-risk-everything-and-everyone-for-her love. Intense. And oh gosh there were so many swoon worthy moments in this book to keep everyone happy, let me give you a little taster…

“There’s only one thing I want.”
“And that is?”
“I want to see Kat.”
Nancy’s smile didn’t fade. “And what are you willing to do to accomplish that?”
“Anything,” I said without hesitation, and I meant it. “I will do anything, but I want to see Kat first and I want to see her now.”

oh and this…

“I wasn’t going to let you do this by yourself. You’re my… you’re my everything, Kat. Kitten did you really expect anything less of me? I love you.”

Katy, you lucky girl.

In Opal I felt like Katy lost some of her original appeal, but I really think she redeemed herself in this book. Some of those things that Daedalus did to her made me shudder, but she showed a real strength that I really admired. She stayed true to herself and her personality and never totally let go of her sanity like Beth did.

There are also just so many other characters that I’ve grown to love in this series now and I feel like more and more just keep being introduced! For one, I adore Archer and Luc. They’re the coolest. If I can’t have Daemon Black then can I please have Archer? PLEASE. And Luc rivals the sarcasm and witticism of Daemon. There’s also a quick introduction of a few characters who I’m interested in knowing more about. If you’ve read the book already; Hunter and Serena?! What’s the deal with them!? I WANT TO KNOW. I’m sensing a novella on the way about these two.

I also really enjoyed learning more about Daedalus and what they do there. I’m a mixture of disgusted and fascinated by them and everything they do. I still can’t quite sort them out in my head so I’m definitely hoping that I’ll get to see more. Nancy, in my opinion, makes the greatest villian. I can picture her perfectly in me head in a cute suit skirt, simple black heels and sickly sweet smile that just makes you want to slap her in the head so hard.

The storyline was a tad predictable, as soon as the word “origin” was brought up I knew exactly what was happening. But there was still plenty of shock and awe too! AH there was so much happening, will Daemon and Katy escape Daedalus?! HOW?! This book has adventure, love, betrayal and a whole lot of drama. The ending in this one is no where near as bad as it was last time, but there is a small cliff hanger at the end that will definitely leave you craving more.

Unfortunately there was one massive issue for me that left me disappointed. So these characters are all around 19 years old and there are some pretty adult things happening in their relationships. As a 20 year old myself, this freaks me out!! The thing that Katy and Daemon do? Uhhh if that happened in real life, I would be all “WTF!?” I may have been able to swallow my discomfort over that but then the thing with Dawson and Beth!? No. I can’t move past it. First up, I’ve never really liked Dawson and Beth. I think they’re both annoying and quiet and irritating, I just can’t connect with them like I do with Daemon and Katy. But I really really dislike the direction their relationship is heading in now! I didn’t like it when they pulled that shit in Twilight, and I don’t like it now.

So if you are a YA lover and you haven’t read any of The Lux books yet, then please, GET TO THE STORE AND START READING.

20121221-161414.jpgBuy book

If you liked this book, then check out more by this author…

Fire flower  9897164  Cursed  13362536

5 thoughts on “Origin (Lux #4), by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I love this series and the author. The writing style is so easy to read. And I’m glad that I’m not the only person not digging Dawson and Beth. I read the prequel “Shadows” and just wasn’t impressed. Not much development and very on the surface storyline.

  2. I liked Shadows. And I was a Beth and Dawson fan from that. I think it’s currently free for kindle on amazon (oohh it is. I just checked)… Now I’m a little less fond of them. In Origin they kind of annoyed me. But I did like they were back.

    In terms of the adult nature of their relationships – I think that so many people I know would consider what Katy and Daemon did to be the most romantic thing ever. That they couldn’t wait and that even the non-officialness of it all just…. how sweet! I didn’t really like it that much. It sort of felt a little… rushed? Not in terms of their age but with regards to how it sort of sprung up.

    And the other adult thing you’re talking about. It did make me think of Twilight but I actually felt it was more natural in Origin. And when you’ve only got one book to go and you’re not about to have a five-ten year gap in the middle of your story but you want to address issues that Katy and Daemon saw in the facility… you do need to throw the characters in the deep end. I’m just glad that it wasn’t Katy. It did make me go “You can’t be serious… ” but I have a feeling that Armentrout is going to handle it all much better than I thought Meyer did.

    Sorry for the lengthy comment!

    • Ooh thanks for the tip about Shadows, just went online and bought it so I’ll give that a read and see if they grow on me.

      I agree, everything at the end was so rushed and I think that’s part of the reason I didn’t like it. It all just happened so quickly without any warning and it freaked me out. I tried not to let my feelings of the end affect my rating because honestly, it’s more of a personal reaction that I have towards that stuff at that age rather than an issue with the writing or the storyline.

      Thanks for the lengthy comment! It’s always nice to hear what someone thinks 🙂

Leave a Reply

