ARC: Unspoken (Woodlands #2), by Jen Frederick

17876866Book synopsis:

Published 16th September 2013 | 260 pages

Whore. Slut. Typhoid Mary. 

I’ve been called all these at Central College. One drunken night, one act of irresponsible behavior, and my reputation was ruined. Guys labeled me as easy and girls shied away. To cope, I stayed away from Central social life and away from Central men, so why is it that my new biology lab partner is so irresistible to me?

He’s everything I shouldn’t want. A former Marine involved in illegal fighting with a quick trigger temper and an easy smile for all the women. His fists aren’t the danger to me, though, it’s his charm. He’s sliding his way into my heart and I’m afraid that he’s going to be the one to break me.

Impulsive. Unthinking. Hot tempered.

I allow instinct to rule my behavior. If it feels good, do it, has been my motto because if I spend too much time thinking, I’ll begin to remember exactly where I came from. At Central College, I’ve got fighting and I’ve got women and I thought I was satisfied until I met her.

She’s everything I didn’t realize I wanted and the more time I spend with her, the more I want her. But she’s been hurt too much in the past and I don’t want to be the one to break her. I know I should walk away, but I just can’t.

Review: 4 stars

First I just want to say that I really love this cover!! Confession; I am guilty of judging books by their covers but if I saw this one on the shelf I would totally grab it. Don’t really know why, I just really like it for some reason.

Now onto the story line…

 AM has been viciously bullied by her entire college campus since her freshman year when she slept with a douche bag on the lacrosse team. Ever since then she’s hidden herself away from campus, remaining pretty off the map to save herself from the horrible treatment of her classmates.

vsBo is an ex-marine who uses his fists and sex to escape reality.

kerry-degman-daniel-dottavio-homotography-15Together, somehow they make sense. Bo gets behind AM’s boundaries and helps her stand up for herself, while AM makes Bo want to get his life together.

I adore these two, both separately and together. AM and her best friend are cool chicks, I would definitely want to be friends with them if I met them in real life! I love how sassy they both are! Towards the middle I was irritated by AM’s behavior because I felt like she was hanging out in this weird limbo; not really running but not standing up for herself either. Although looking back I’ve decided it might not even have been her. I think I was just irritated about how she was treated by everyone for something that shouldn’t have been anyone’s business, and then projected that irritation onto her. I DID like the character. Her character is really relatable and I think her development over the story was excellent. Especially towards the end when she goes to the “party house” and gives her peers a piece of her mind, oh man, SHE WAS AMAZING. It was in that moment that she completely won me over to her side and I basically wanted to be her.

I loved Bo from the very beginning; hot, alpha male, intelligent, loyal, protective… what’s not to like? He’s is the epitome of a male character in NA fiction. His development over the story was well written, it all made perfect sense and just seemed to work.

Together they’re chemistry is great! They’re personal issues are immense; there are topics like domestic abuse and adultery in their past but together they work through these things. Parts of this book get intense, but other parts were fun and light. I loved it. I really enjoyed reading about these two.

I never read the first Woodland book but Jen Frederick has won me over, I adored this book and am definitely interested in reading her other books now!

4-Stars

Leave a Reply

