The Iron Queen (The Iron Fey #3), by Julie Kagawa

8685612Book Synopsis:

Published January 25th 2011 by Harlequin Teen | 358 pages

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

 

Review: 5 STARS

Julie Kagawa has quickly made her way onto my favourite authors list! The way she writes her stories; the endless action and cutest romances has me totally in awe of her. Lately I seem to be developing quite the collection of her books which I hope will continue to grow!

The Iron Queen, the third book in The Iron Fey series, is yet another great story. In this book Meghan and Ash get drawn back into the craziness of the Nevernever to help the summer and winter courts in their war against the Iron Fey. I really appreciate the way Julie Kagawa is able to sum up so succinctly the most important parts of what happened in the previous books. I read the first and second book over six months ago now so naturally its difficult for me to remember all the little things that happened but are all so significant to the story. But with the Iron Fey series I never have that problem, plus it’s done in a way that doesn’t feel overly repetitive or annoying either. I think that’s a really great quality in any sequel.

But back to the story line – If you enjoyed the first two books this one will definitely not disappoint you. There’s war, fighting, quests, betrayal and love. I swear this story has it all. As we go further iniron_fey__puck__meghan_and_ash_by_jencantdance-d4cfopvto the series we see more and more characters coming into the story. All the characters we love and know are back of course; Meghan, Ash, Grim and Puck. I love these characters more and more every time I read about them! Meghan is really starting to take charge! She’s taking names and kicking butt! As always, Ash and Puck have got her back and are great for a little bit of comedic relief with their snarky banter. And Grim remains my favourite cat in the whole world. But there are also so many new characters added to the mix too! I love the new iron fey, particularly Glitch and Razor who I hope to see more of in her next books.

I particularly loved the love story in this one. I have always been on Team Puck, I just prefer a guy who can make you laugh and have some fun. Ash has always been a little too broody for me. But Ash really does get to shine in this book and I found myself starting to see his charm. Puck is still my pick but I can see why Meghan would want Ash.

“My name is Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn, third son of the Unseelie Court…Let it be known–from this day forth, I vow to protect Meghan Chase, daughter of the Summer King, with my sword, my honor, and my life. Her desires are mine. Her wishes are mine. Should even the world stand against her, my blade will be at her side. And should it fail to protect her, let my own existence be forfeit. This I swear, on my honor, my True Name, and my life. From this day on…” His voice went even softer, but I still heard it as though he whispered it into my ear. “I am yours.”

Love. It. After reading all these swoon worthy statements from Ash, I’m extremely excited for his side of the story in The Iron Knight (I’ve already bought it)!!

five starsBuy Book

Check out the other books in The Iron Fey series!!

6644117 7747064

One thought on “The Iron Queen (The Iron Fey #3), by Julie Kagawa

  1. Pingback: The Iron Knight (Iron Fey #4) by Julie Kagawa | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

