City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare

1582996Book Synopsis:
Published 25th March 2008 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
453 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Book Review: 4.5 stars
Cassandra Clare has created a series filled with literary brilliance. She is able to combine well developed characters and plot with a sense of wit and longing that ensures the reader devours each and every page. I am obsessed!

“She didn’t call you a criminal, exactly…”
“No, I’m just a very naughty boy. I do all sorts of bad things. I kick kittens. I make rude gestures at nuns.”
“Don’t joke. This is serious stuff.”

images-1Of course my initial reason for picking up this book was because I had recently seen the movie. And since I have this unnatural (almost stalkerish) obsession with Jamie Campbell Bower I figured that anything that would now have his face to it deserves countless hours of imagination. I love this world Clare has created, how it intertwines reality and fantasy with magical clauses that creates a vivid image for every reader. Obviously there were some gaps in my mortal instruments mythology given that I have only seen the movie, but it wasn’t very hard to pick up what hadn’t been mentioned on the big screen.

Although, looking back, I realise that little actually happens in this book I didn’t really mind. The characters are just incredibly well written that you develop this incessant need to see if certain relationships will change or if they will stay the same. Or at least I did. Which brings me to Jace and Clary. I must admit that my heart did melt when Jace told Clary that he wanted to engage in an incestuous relationship with her…it doesn’t sound as bad as you think it does! Because there is no way that they are actually brother and sister. And although I am well set on this fact I felt like everyone else in the book were trying to convince themselves that Jace was Valentines as well. Whether it be in personality or appearance, comparisons were being flung everywhere.

Simon. Oh Simon. He just makes me want to hug him. And since he his now played by Robert Sheehan, I wouldn’t mind a lingering hug. I think Simon is one of my favourite characters, especially in this book. He just changes so much after being turned, developing this new imagesoutlook on life – well the afterlife. And his relationship with Clary I just completely understood. The way that Clare described it as being ‘pleasant’ was spot on given the situation.

Valentine is a villain you love to hate. As described in the book when he goes off on a rant you just can’t help but see his point of view. The description of him just completely messed me up though, given how he looks in the movie, but still I wouldn’t want to cross him in a dark ally. What I would love to see more of is Alex and Magnus, they are just too darn cute! Yet so dysfunctional.

Although there are still a ton of plot points that still need to be tied up, I do think the overall book was summed up okayish. Didn’t really like the fact that Jace tells Clary that he’ll back off from being all non-brotherly, but I’m being optimistic that it won’t last. What’s up with her power? And there has got to be more to Valentines plan right?

Well I am seriously fan girling at the moment and must discuss my obsession with Maddison. Most likely in a conversation that would appear to eavesdroppers that we are talking about our best friends. That is how much I think I know these characters of fiction.

imagesBUY BOOK

 

One thought on “City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

