Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2), by Sarah J. Maas

18005628Book Synopsis:

Published August 15th 2013 by Bloomsbury | 432 pages

An assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt.
But her heart never wavers.

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice.

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

Review: 5 KICK-ASS STARS

After finishing this story my immediate reaction was – “More. I NEED MORE. Please give me MORE, how can you just leave me like this?!” I feel lost after finishing this story, those final chapters had so much going on and then just left me with a big ‘OMG’ moment. This story was action-packed and so crazy. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas is one of my favourite books of 2013! It was epic.

“She’s just one girl.”
Though his guts were twisting at the thought of her in this place, with these people, though he was considering every possible way to get himself and Celaena out of here alive, he gave the man a grin. “Then you’re in for a big surprise.”

The main character, Celaena, is an all time favourite for me; she is cruel, she is cutthroat, she is fierce and she is just plain scary. I respect that she’s not the typical heroine who’s like “I must save my people!” but is actually very hesitant to put her life on the line. We also find out a lot more about her past in this one and when all those puzzle pieces finally fell into place… Oh man, I was more than a little impressed.

But let’s never forget the amazingness that is Chaol.

“I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.”

*swoon*

Dear Universe, please please PLEASE send Chaol to me. What a lovely, loyal, amazing and just plain good man! This is the romance I have imagined happening since the Yulemas ball in the first book and I was not at all disappointed. Amongst all the drama, action and mystery of this storyline, there is a love story that is just so sweet and potent! I couldn’t put the book down.

And finally there’s Dorian; I’m not incredibly attached to this character because, well let’s be honest …how could he ever compare to Chaol?! It would be pretty damn tough, if not impossible. I was very concerned that his character might turn this story into yet another annoying love triangle. One of those love triangle where I know who the heroine is going to choose in the end which leaves me feeling depressed for the poor schmuck who gets his heart broken. But thankfully, this book does not follow that typical storyline! YAY! Is Dorian’s heart hurt? Yes, we all know that from the first book. But at least he seems to be pretty accepting of Chaol and Celaena (as accepting as he can be anyway) and still remains a great loyal friend to both. I also really like the changes that this character undergoes during this book. Dorian’s becoming a more complex guy so I’m excited to see what happens to him in the next book!

This is a kick ass action story full of mystery and love. There is a lot more blood shed, more action and more craziness in this sequel than there was in the first book. So if you liked the Throne of Glass then you will absolutely adore this sequel. It’s excellent!

five starsBuy Book

3 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2), by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Chaol makes me swoon. I loved him from the start of “Throne of Glass.” He is seriously everything I want. And I loved this novel too! Slightly predictable, but the writing is strong and I enjoy the characters.

Leave a Reply

