ARC: Prep School Confidential (Prep School Confidential, #1) by Kara Taylor

13411546Book Synopsis:
Published July 30th 2013 by St. Martin’s Griffin
304 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

In this breathtaking debut that reads like Gossip Girl crossed with Twin Peaks, a Queen Bee at a blue-blooded New England prep school stumbles into a murder mystery.

Anne Dowling practically runs her exclusive academy on New York’s Upper East Side—that is, until she accidentally burns part of it down and gets sent to a prestigious boarding school outside of Boston. Determined to make it back to New York, Anne couldn’t care less about making friends at the preppy Wheatley School. That is, until her roommate Isabella’s body is found in the woods behind the school.

When everyone else is oddly silent, Anne becomes determined to uncover the truth no matter how many rules she has to break to do it. With the help of Isabella’s twin brother Anthony, and a cute classmate named Brent, Anne discovers that Isabella wasn’t quite the innocent nerdy girl she pretended to be. But someone will do anything to stop Anne’s snooping in this fast-paced, unputdownable read—even if it means framing her for Isabella’s murder.

Book Review: 2.5 stars

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review ~

Like with any good book you must have a main character who is interesting, but not too interesting that they become unrealistic. Anne was an amazing protagonist to begin with, but it didn’t last long before she revealed her true self. And man do I wish she stayed the same as the girl we meet in the first few chapters who had no problem dropping the F bomb. I miss her.

Prep School Confidential is a suspenseful tale of murder at a boarding school. Personally I think the book dragged on a little bit. Once I hit the 60% mark I was ready to put it down, but decided that I’d gotten this far so might as well finish it. There were just a few things that iffed me to the point that it effected my overall perception of the book. And yes I am aware that I am not the intended audience, but some things should just be implied rather than explicitly stated.

1. Anne became obsessed with finding out who killed Isabella, her roommate for a week. On some level I understand her desire to go all Nancy Drew since everybody else in the boarding school just wanted to sweep it under the rug. But on the other hand I never felt like she was trying to solve the mystery for the right reasons. To me it seemed like she needed to do some growing as a person and figured why not solve a murder in the process.

2. When it came to friends Anne was a user. So after she gets sent to boarding school she decides that she is going to go against her nature of being Queen B and will instead become an outcast and hate on people who are just like her. Or were like her. But after she stands up to the Evil Bitch all the girls start to see her as their leader….legit. Their leader. But Anne didn’t really want to make friends until she realised it would help her solve the murder. She used people.

3. Brent. Anne begins to ignore Brent after she finds out that he was ‘apparently’ stringing Jill along before she came to the school. Firstly she wasn’t really great friends with Jill, cause she’s a user. Secondly she decides that since that happened to Jill, Brent must be doing it to her…right? But instead of confronting him like spit-baller Anne would have, she ignores him. Immature.

4. Anne & Anthony.
“But I catch him looking back at me before he hops on his motorcycle, his expression matching what’s going through my head. Holy shit. That was the most amazing kiss I’ve ever had.” enough said.

I always like to end on a positive note however, and there were some things that I did enjoy about this book. I did adore the ‘love triangle’, and I thought it was written rather beautifully. And Taylor does have a knack for humorous writing as well, there was some one liners that made me snigger.

Overall I wouldn’t classify this book as a heart stopper, edge of your seat, need to read now, kind of book. And I am slightly disappointed that it started off with such a bang, but didn’t hold my interest till the very end.

2.5starsBUY BOOK

3 thoughts on “ARC: Prep School Confidential (Prep School Confidential, #1) by Kara Taylor

  1. I am currently reading this book! So sad you didn’t like it, but I have yet to form an opinion. Thank you, though. Great review. I kinda have an idea what to look out for now. x

Leave a Reply

