Love Unscripted, by Tina Reber

15853427Book Synopsis:

Published January 1st by Atria | 592 pages

An A-List Movie Star…
Ryan Christensen just wanted to be an actor. Never in his wildest dreams did he imagine a life where fans would chase him, paparazzi would stalk him, and Hollywood studios would want to own him. While filming in Seaport, Rhode Island, Ryan ducks into a neighborhood bar for a quick escape from legions of screaming fans…and finds much more than he expected.

A Small Town Girl…
Nursing a recent heartbreak, Taryn Mitchell believes men are best kept at a safe distance. But when Ryan Christensen unexpectedly bursts through the front door of her pub, she can’t help but be drawn in by his humor, charm, and undeniable good looks. At six foot two, with dirty blond hair, blue eyes, and an incredible body, Ryan has every girl in Seaport swooning. But Taryn isn’t every other girl.

A Relationship that Doesn’t Follow the Script…
Despite her better judgment, Taryn soon finds herself falling hard for Ryan. But is their bond strong enough to survive the tabloid headlines, the relentless paparazzi, and the jealous fans who seem determined to tear them apart?

Review: 3 stars

From the reviews I’ve seen on Goodreads I get the feeling that this book is either a love em’ or hate em’ type of deal. Naturally this made me nervous when I was starting it, because it’s a long book to read if it’s not your thing. But thankfully I found that I did enjoy it! I can’t say that I absolutely love it and think it’s the best novel ever written but I think it was a good entertaining book.

The love between Taryn and Ryan is cute and lovely. At times it did make my heart melt just a little bit. I wasn’t a fan of the insta-love thing they seemed to have going on but Tina Reber seemed to make it work. Ryan was everything a male lead should be – kind, shy, hot to trot, considerate and a little goofy. Taryn was the typical ‘I don’t care about Hollywood so naturally I snag the movie star’ type of girl (on a serious note though, I am seriously thinking I should quit being such a Hollywood fan girl because clearly that’s how you get the hot movie stars!). The book is a pretty damn long, almost 600 pages, so there’s a lot of time to really flush out the inner workings of their relationship so that they can go through all the drama of a new relationship and come out the other side more in love than ever. The story line was cute, well done and just plain sexy. It did make me swoon a little, what can I say? I like me a little romance.

“I don’t want anyone else – just you. And no matter where I am, wherever I go, you’re the only one who is holding my heart.”

Come on, like that doesn’t make you swoon just a little.

Unfortunately though, I do have a but. While the love story is everything a romance should be, I did have problems with some of the writing. There were so many cliches and silly metaphors that I was actually cringing at points. For example…

 “He was like a kid in a candy store, so happy and relaxed.”

That one doesn’t even make sense, what kid is relaxed in a candy store?! NO. Hyper and excited maybe. Relaxed? Never.

There was also a definite overuse of the words “passionately” “seductively” “it made me happy/sad” and a lot of exclamation marks. Seriously Ryan, calm the hell down.

Overall, I feel like this book was good. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. It was a romance book, plain and simple. Will I re-read it? Probably not. Would I recommend it to people? If they like romance stories, then yes I definitely would because that’s who this book is written for – all those die-hard romance fans out there and that being the case, I think it did a good job.

UntitledBuy book

3 thoughts on “Love Unscripted, by Tina Reber

  1. Gorgeous cover! Too bad I’m not into insta-love. And tsk tsk, the writing error doesn’t sit well with me. My friend on Goodreads recommended this book but now I think I may have to pass. Thanks for this review!

    And oh, if you want a Hollywood love story, I have a suggestion for you. If you haven’t read it yet, try ‘Between The Lines’ by Tammara Webber. It’s actually quite good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

