Everneath (Everneath #1) by Brodi Ashton

9413044Book Synopsis:
Published 24th January 2012 by HarperCollins / Balzer + Bray
370 Pages |goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her boyfriend—before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance—and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

Everneath is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.

Book Review: 3.5 Stars

I’m not really sure why anyone would think it’d be a brilliant idea to go to the Everneath, its not exactly a raging party. On the plus side you won’t feel all of that teenage angst that has been bringing you down man, but you will have to deal with an uber hot being sucking the life out of you for a century. If thats your kind of thing, then go for it honey!

Everneath is a retelling of the Orpheus and Eurydice/Hades and Persephone myths and I honestly did enjoy Ashton’s spin on it. But I just didn’t feel like I identified with the main character, which meant that it was a push to get through this book. To start with I was just plain confused as to why Nikki would even return to the surface, until it was noted to me that thats just what happens for 6 months or you can join the Tunnels immediately and become a power source for the Everlings. The Everlings are immortal beings who every century take a human – Forfeit – to the Everneath and drains them dry so that they can continue living. Such a classy civilisation.

Yes I am not a teenager anymore, so everything that Nikki found a big deal and a must need to fix I was like… why? She knew that she had to return to the Everneath but she was so focused on rebuilding relationships that were messed up before she disappeared, but then she was going to leave again. Hence ruining the relationship she just spent her last 6 months trying to rebuild. And what was up with her Dad? Where the F did he think she was? In a rehabilitation clinic – why wouldn’t he have tried to find her? And nobody else seemed to ask her where she had been it was like this unspoken, unjustified, Oh well your back excellent, no need to ask where you went mentality.

As it does happen on occasion, not often but on occasion, I fell for the man she didn’t choose. Cole was darn freaking funny, and in his character development as a reader I saw the strengths in Ashton’s writing. Towards the end of the book everything did feel a bit rushed, and I was uber disappointed that she didn’t jump on the Cole train to become his queen. I would, who needs a heart? Like honestly?

I think I will continue on with the next book, because it has plagued my interests enough.
Have you read this series? What did you think?

3-5-stars

BUY BOOK

8 thoughts on “Everneath (Everneath #1) by Brodi Ashton

  1. from what you just said it may be a good book but I don’t think I’ll worry about checking it out… because I do hate big gapping holes in the story… and people not wondering where their teenage daughter disappeared too would be too bothersome for me…

  2. I read this book in January and had really mixed opinions on it too. I really agree with you that Nikki’s choice to return to the surface to “make things right” didn’t make any sense when she was just going to leave after six months. But, even more than that, is the fact that she returned to make amends with every one she hurt, but then spends about two months completely avoiding everyone. I just kept wondering what the point was

    I took the opposite view on the love triangle though, I really liked the nice-guy of the story (whose name I forget). Cole reminded me of Adam Brody’s character in the movie Jennifer’s Body.

    Anyway, I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on the sequel if you read it (since I don’t currently have any plans to).

    • I think there were just too many moments where I just felt like I had to accept what was going on, rather than think too hard about why it wasn’t making sense.
      In regards to the love triangle I found Jack just too nice. And although I did appreciate how their love saved each other I think sacrificing yourself was an annoying plot twist, mainly because I wanted her to be with Cole :p

      • Hah, yeah. I liked Jack (so THAT was his name!) up until he threw himself into the demonic tornado. I didn’t think Nikki really deserved to be saved by him. Or am I being to harsh on her?

      • I just think that when Mary told her that there was another way to save her, all that debt must be paid but it doesn’t matter by who thing, as a reader you could see how it was going to end. And I wasn’t happy about it, because why wouldn’t she have just gone with Cole? It would have saved her life (sort of) and Jacks. Surely she could have seen that Jack would have done anything for her, it was silly. And yeah I don’t think she deserved his sacrifice.

  3. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

