Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

7741325Book Synopsis:

Published 5th October by Mira Ink | 260 pages

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own

 

Review:

I received this copy from Mira Ink via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

There are many words I could use to describe this particular story; cute, fun, light, adorable, and a little fanciful. It was a really lovely light read by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn that put a big smile on my face because it is just a really nice story.

This is the story of two lonely and slightly odd teenagers who start a game of dare with each other through clues written in notebook. Through these dares and questions, they begin to know each other and learn to step outside their comfort zones to have a little fun. At first the immaturity of the characters really bothered me. Lily in my mind seemed to act like a twelve year old and Boomer was just as bad, although Dash was pretty mature. But then I kind of had to take a step back and go “hold up, Maddi! Why do you think they’re immature?” Because DUH they’re sixteen and seventeen, they’re supposed to be a little immature and innocent. I think I’ve gotten so used to YA books where the sixteen year old acts like a mature twenty-something I nearly forgot that that’s not really what teenagers are like. I should know, I’ve only recently graduated from my teenage-hood and I’m certainly not a mature adult. I think it was kind of refreshing to read about characters who did act their age and were a little naïve.

But I have to say I didn’t love this story. It’s not that the story is bad or that the writing is terrible, in fact I thought the wittiness and humor in the writing was fantastic. But this is not the story for me. I found it to be boring and often found myself wondering off to do something else rather than read. It didn’t have that intense action or suspense that I so love in a book. It was more chilled and mellow, relaying on it’s clever narration and relationship development to tell the story. I don’t think this is a bad thing, but it wasn’t my cup of tea. And perhaps this young adult number was really just too young for me? I do think young pre-teens to early teens would really enjoy this story! I think I might give it to my younger step-sister and see what she thinks.

I honestly believe this book is a great piece of writing. I would recommend it to people to read at Christmas when you’re surrounded by people all the time and something is always happening so you just need something light and fun to read at the end of the day. But if you’re looking for something to keep you on the edge of your seat in a ‘what’s going to happen next!?’ suspense then you should probably pass this one over.

2.5stars

Buy Book

Leave a Reply

