Lick (Stage Dive, #1) by Kylie Scott

17983690Book Synopsis:
Published July 1st 2013 by Momentum
286 pages | goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

 

Book Review: 4.5 stars

I would just like to thank Momentum and Kylie Scott for providing me with a copy of Lick: Stage Dive 1. I received this free copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve been re-typping this intro for about an hour now, and still no opening sentence seems to express my love for this book. It was not what I expected. I didn’t think it would be as sweet and charming since it is set in a rockstar world, but it was. And now I’m at a loss for words.

So as the summary suggests this book is about a girl who wakes up with no recollection of the night before due to one too many tequila shots. And if no memory was only the worst of her troubles she is now married to David Ferris the lead guitarist of a famous rock band. Because of the media attention that comes from this situation David and Ev are forced to escape for a while until the divorce papers are drawn and can be signed…of course some romancing happens while Ev is trying to figure out why she would have said yes to David’s proposal in the first place.

I adored all of the characters. I’m not sure that I have fallen as fast for a cast then I have with this book. Laurens sassiness, Nates punching fists, Mals humour, Jimmys drug addicted ass, Marthas bitchiness, Sams sweetness, Bens muscles and of course David and Ev. I love David, from the very first chapter when he looked at Ev and was devastated that she couldn’t remember who he was. He makes me just want to wrap my arms around him and never let go.

“But I married you, Evelyn, because you made sense to me. We make sense. We’re a whole lot better together than apart.”

Ev is freaking awesome! She was just written in a way that made her seem like a real person. Her scepticism at the beginning, and how this eventually turned into love, and then heartbreak – gosh! I loved being inside her head. She was so torn and I loved her sense of humour. And her and David together was just fantastic! And have I mentioned that he writes songs about her and you get to read the lyrics. LOVE HIM!

So….

tumblr_mc656qSu921rakpcyo1_500

Yes there are some saucy scenes that may make the faint at heart blush, but it was understanding where these characters were coming from and what they wanted out of life as well as what they found in each other that makes this book memorable. The writing was amazing, despite a few errors. Scott can draw you in with a whimsical line, catch your breath with a slight smirk, and make you stay up till 2am trying to read whilst sleep is tugging at your eyelids.

Your missing out if you don’t pick this one up!

689BUY BOOK

P.S If David was a country singer I’m sure one of his songs would sound like this. Its rather a perfect song to fit the book, thank you Hunter Hayes.

Leave a Reply

