Saving Angel (A Divisa Novel, #1) by J.L Weil

Saving Angel coverBook Summary:
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform | 2012
330 Pages

I wondered what my life would be like if we had never moved to the ho-dunk town of Spring Valley, Illinois. Sure the internet service was splotchy, there was nothing but miles of wheat fields and I probably wouldn’t be faced with death at every corner.
My only neighbor in this god forsaken town was… well there really is only one to describe him, hot as hell. With his sinful dark looks, unusually silver eyes and kissable lips, there was something about him that was more than meets the eye.
Of course I was determined to find out.
Chase Winters might be drool-worthy, but he is also insufferable, arrogant and … in short a d-bag. Our relationship is anything but love at first sight. Not even close. There is something weird about the family living next door.
What I hadn’t expected to find was an underworld of trouble.
Chase and his cousins Lexi and Travis are Divisa, half-demon, half-human. Getting them angry is hardly in my best interest, not if I wanted to live.
As it turns out, that might be the least of my problems. I’ve been tagged by hell.
Now every ugly, asty being from hades is on my trail. I have suddenly became a magnet for demon disaster and the only way I am getting out of this alive is by putting my life in the demon spawn’s hands.
One wrong decision and my butt is toast.

Book Review: 2.5 stars

I couldn’t finish it. I am currently 45% of the way through and I have had to put it down. Maybe I’ll return to it in the future, but just not anytime soon.

Saving Angel actually started off pretty well. You meet Angel who has moved away from Tuscan to live with her mother after her father has been sent to jail. And then of course there is the mysterious boy who lives next door and his too friendly cousin who only wants a friend. (Yes you can draw the comparisons between this book and the Lux series now.) But it wasn’t for that reason that I put it down.

I could no longer be inside the head of Angel. As a protagonist she frankly sucked. I was so frustrated with her! She is described as being a smart ass, but nothing that came out of her mouth was particularly funny or worthy of her being labelled a “smart ass”. So when other characters told her that she was “funny” – not in a condescending way – I was like WTF! In regards to her feelings for Chase they were just rushed and it felt forced. When she meets him on his doorstep he is apparently being an ‘ass’ to her, but not in a witty kind of way so the whole scene just read as blah. And then of course she obsesses over the ‘hot’ dude that lives next door..and when I say obsess I mean that every time she is in the room with him its a continuous stream of “I don’t like him but i’m lying to myself because I only ever fantasise about his body on mine.” And then when he isn’t in the room things start to remind her of him. Every page people. Every page.

So pretty much the 45% of the book was about her and her miss guided feelings for the boy next door with eyes that sometimes changed colour, and who was overprotective of his cousin especially when she was out after dark. Oh there was an attack from a hell hound that ended up in an almost kiss but by GOD READERS, you must then suffer through another few chapters of ‘I can’t believe he almost kissed me, no don’t think about that Angel.’ meh.

The writing was just ok. It did get better as the book (well the chunk that I read) went on and Weil’s got into the rhythm of things but I guess in my eyes she just didn’t write the protagonist strong enough. There was nothing to Angel, no uniqueness. In many cases I found that there was a lot of telling rather than showing, which is incredibly frustrating to read. There were numerous editorial errors as well, but this didn’t really annoy me as much.

I’m sure that there is more to the story, and that it would be most likely intriguing if I could get over the protagonist. But I can’t. She annoys me too much.

2.5stars

Leave a Reply

