Goddess (Starcrossed, #3) by Josephine Angelini

7849034Book Synopsis:
Published 28th May 2013 by HarperTeen
421 pages | Add to Goodreads
After accidentally unleashing the gods from their captivity on Olympus, Helen must find a way to re-imprison them without starting a devastating war. But the gods are angry, and their thirst for blood already has a body count.

To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a diabolical Tyrant is lurking among them, which drives a wedge between the once-solid group of friends. As the gods use the Scions against one another, Lucas’s life hangs in the balance. Still unsure whether she loves him or Orion, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, for war is coming to her shores.

In Josephine Angelini’s compelling conclusion to the masterfully woven Starcrossed trilogy, a goddess must rise above it all to change a destiny that’s been written in the stars. With worlds built just as fast as they crumble, love and war collide in an all-out battle that will leave no question unanswered and no heart untouched.

Book Review: 4.5 stars

‘Your the only one I’ll ever love. The only one I’m capable of loving completely. You’re it for me.’
Josephine Angelini | Goddess

There are always a few things that go through my mind when I am about to start the final book in a much loved series. The main being, will it end as I want it to? And so I have come to the conclusion that no series, for me, will ever end as I want it to…why? Because I will always be saddened that there will be no more books. Fortunately though Goddess was an amazing finale, although I’m still left wanting more. Damn you Josephine Angelini with your clearly fated talent!

paris_and_helen_of_troy_by_eruadanIt did take me a while to get back into Angelini’s world because it had been so long since Dreamless had been released. I was utterly confusedover the situation with Matt and it did take me a good seven chapters to understand what was going on. Another thing that confused me was the names. Oh My God! The names. I honestly gave up trying to remember who people were in Troy and then who they were today. Despite these bits that I just sort of skimmed over (it would have made more sense if I read each book right after the previous one) I truly did love this book.

Greek mythology has always fascinated me, any type of religion really…as we all know. But I adored Angelini’s twist on it. The concept of cycles was intriguing, and although it was obvious who the Tyrant truly was I loved the mixture of fate and free will. We get to see glimpses of the other lives that Lucas and Helen shared, and I was jumping up with glee when they also turned out to be Guinevere and Lancelot. Gosh! It was like this fantastical mixture of my favourite stories. Amaze-ing.

mount-olympusIf you have read the other two, which you must, you will know that everything was leading up to this EPIC battle. And was it EPIC! Angelini is an amazing storyteller, who draws her readers in and won’t let them go until they are left wanting more. The overall ending is sufficient. I use the word sufficient as a lover of this series will never be happy that it is over. Angelini does leave a few doors open however so maybe in the future a spin off might occur..?

One of the things that I disliked, and have always disliked, is the character Daphne. Although I could see that Angelini was trying to redeem her in the end, and although I understood why she told that lie to Helen, I just couldn’t over look the fact that she is a horrible person. Rotted down to the core. In addition to this I have read somewhere that Angelini wanted to include most of the themes associated with Greek mythology, and I guess if she had been like oop not cousins rather early on, the book might have taken a different turn. Especially with the need of The Shield. In addition to Daphne I ended up disliking Claire and Matt, even Ari…maybe it was a bit of the fact that I hadn’t read about them in so long and now they were just afraid of the impending doom that I was sort of like ‘stop being a wuss, and stand up for your best friend.’ meh.

Regardless I love the cover. I love the series. And I can’t wait to see what Angelini does next! A must read.

images-1BUY BOOK

Leave a Reply

