True by Erin McCarthy

17332551Book Synopsis:
Published 7th May 2013 by Penguin Group (USA)
222 Pages | Add to Goodreads
When Rory Macintosh’s roommates find out that their studious and shy friend has never been with a guy, they decide that, as an act of kindness they’ll help her lose her virginity by hiring confident, tattooed bad boy Tyler Mann to do the job…unbeknownst to Rory.

Tyler knows he’s not good enough for Rory. She’s smart, doctor smart, while he’s barely scraping by at his EMT program, hoping to pull his younger brothers out of the hell their druggy mother has left them in. But he can’t resist taking up her roommates on an opportunity to get to know her better. There’s something about her honesty that keeps him coming back when he knows he shouldn’t…

Torn between common sense and desire, the two find themselves caught up in a passionate relationship. But when Tyler’s broken family threatens to destroy his future, and hers, Rory will need to decide whether to cut her ties to his risky world or follow her heart, no matter what the cost…

Book Review: 3.5 stars

This ARC was received from Penguin Group USA via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Is it strange that I related way too much with the main character Rory? It was almost like McCarthy has been swimming around in my brain. In fact any female brain when it comes to the social niceties young adults find themselves in. Being highly influenced by science she remains logical at points when others would rely on feeling. I can relate.

As if I had been assembled in a different way altogether than everyone around me, and while I liked the end result, everyone else was confused about how to interpret my very existence.

541817_476585509076304_1599859875_nI’m not a massive fan of the New Adult genre, but this is one of the better ones I have read. McCarthy has written believable characters, with relatable personalities so that it isn’t hard to believe these people would actually exist. Tyler is rather amazing, and I loved the beginning of his and Rory’s relationship. Again he was believable, and I loved reading about the TRUE family.

“What are you doing?”
“I’m planning on kissing you. If that’s okay.”
“I haven’t decided,” I answered truthfully.

Unfortunately I just lost interest around the 3/4 mark. Nothing much had been happening, and Rory sort of turned from this strong lead to this love sick puppy. Her humour and sass, although still somewhat present, started to lack and Tyler became all doey eyed. Of course this change is understandable given the point in their relationship, but it just sort of dragged on.

Overall though the story was well written with likeable characters. And I loved being inside of Rory’s head, despite how similar it is to mine.

imagesBUY BOOK

Favourite Quotes:

Because that was what we all did – we searched for labels for people until we found one we thought might fit, and then we sighed in relief that we had placed them.

Then again, sometimes we see what we want to see. We make people better in our heads than they actually are.

Then I store toward the door, wanting him to stop me. Wanting him to grab me and passionately kiss me or insist we spend the night together or say something completely and utterly romantic that girls dreamed of and no guy ever said.
He didn’t, of course.

So I had kind of an awkward crush on Grant because it smelled of Possibility. Like it was not totally out of the realm of possibility that he could actually want to be with me, in some sort of male female capacity.

Nope. Not a fantasy. Just me, rocking the awk.

True | Erin McCarthy

Leave a Reply

