ARC: Some Quiet Place, by Kelsey Sutton

15710557 Book Synopsis:

350 pages| Publish date July 8 2013 by Flux Books

I can’t weep. I can’t fear. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions . . . she sees them. Longing, Shame, and Courage materialize around her classmates. Fury and Resentment appear in her dysfunctional home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, save one—Fear. He’s intrigued by her, as desperate to understand the accident that changed Elizabeth’s life as she is herself.

Elizabeth and Fear both sense that the key to her past is hidden in the dream paintings she hides in the family barn. But a shadowy menace has begun to stalk her, and try as she might, Elizabeth can barely avoid the brutality of her life long enough to uncover the truth about herself. When it matters most, will she be able to rely on Fear to save her?

man3

Book Review: 3.5 stars

This is a cool book! I absolutely loved the concept – there’s a girl who can see emotions but she feels none of them. How cool and different is that!? And it didn’t really disappoint. The story was fast paced and intriguing, not at all predictable which is good fun. Plus I adored the description of all the emotions. Kelsey Sutton did an excellent job of describing their physical appearances so that I could imagine them sitting there in my own mind. It was really cool to imagine emotions and elements as having a physical body. Fear in particular sounds sexy as hell, although I think I prefer his dark and mysterious counter-part Courage 😉

I liked that things made sense! This author clearly thought about her concept and it all worked really well. I’ve always had problems with books that make some sort of omnipresent figure, like death or something,  a main character. How the hell is DEATH supposed to be sitting in one place for more than 10 seconds!? I’m positive that there are people dying every second around the world so really it seems impossible that they have the time to be a main character. This was something I was really concerned about when I saw I would be reading a book about emotions. I mean, thousands of people feel the same emotion at the same time so how is it possible that anger or joy be one figure? Well thankfully Kelsey Sutton thought about this and sorted it out in a way that makes sense. I can honestly not express how much I appreciated that.

The only problem that I had is that it was difficult to relate to a character who feels no emotions. I felt really bad for everyone around her, particularly the Caldwell family, although its hard to go into detail about that without mentioning spoilers. Second, I have mixed feelings about the ending. There seemed like there was an attempt to tie up all the loose ends for characters who got royally screwed over and will not be needed in the second book but it still felt sad. I thought there were some characters who are going to be forgotten in the next book, left behind to live their sad country lives and this depresses me. At the same time, I respect that not everything ended with a happily ever after.

If you’re looking for something different to read, I would recommend you check this one out.

This ARC was received from Flux books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

images-1

One thought on “ARC: Some Quiet Place, by Kelsey Sutton

Leave a Reply

