Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover

13372690

Book Synopsis:
Published January 5th 2012 by Colleen Hoover
214 pages
Add to Goodreads

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Book Review: 3.5 stars

I’m not sure what to think. I don’t know if I even liked it. But there was definitely something about Slammed that made me read it in a day.

Ok so ‘slammed’ refers to poetry slam which is so freaking amazing and unique! It was actually my favourite bits to read out of the whole book. Wait! Nope…it definitely was! No question.

Death. The only thing inevitable in life.

People don’t like to talk about death

because it mades them sad.

They don’t want to imagine how life

will go on without them,

all the people they love will briefly

grieve

but continue to breathe.

They don’t want to imagine how life

will go on without them,

Their children will still grow

Get married

Get old…

Colleen Hooper | Snippet of Will’s poem

tumblr_mdaa8cnbH41qbp5jzo1_500I think the main thing that I noticed was that the story progressed rather quickly. Will and Lake go on a date (ha rhyming) in the first few chapters. And then it was like they couldn’t breathe without the other one. It was definitely insta love..which is annoying, but in a weird sense it sort of works the more you read on. At times I did find Lake to be incredibly immature, even though she was described as being the complete the opposite. There was a scene where Will confronts Eddie and Lake and they were making all of these Chuck Norris jokes – although I am a fan of a good Chuck Norris slamming I just sort of was like ‘ok’ and skipped over a few pages.

The repetition of describing or mentioning the ‘stages of grief’ was a bit unnecessary, but it didn’t ruin the overall book for me. Honestly I think this book had a lot of potential but it was just lacking several things. If the whole book was just of poetry I would have given it a 5/5. It was in those moments that you got to see the raw emotions and fears that surrounded each of the main characters. Besides these moments everything just seemed too happy…maybe happy is the wrong choice of word. Because although these characters were dealing with such tough situations it was sort of like the universe was on repeat and everybody ended up fitting into these neatly designed parcels called life where everything and everyone becomes happy. Which I guess is one of the key themes in this book in regards to death & life. Overall I think that there were too many heavy issues that these characters had to deal with, which isn’t unlike reality, but I’m not sure that the execution was fluid enough.

It was a rather easy read which I liked after finishing a monster of a book prior to starting this one. <spoiler> And yes I did steal it from Maddison’s kindle…although I am very surprised that she liked this book so much given that we have had massive debates on whether Aria & Ezra from PLL are a cute couple. She has said no because he was her teacher, whereas I had no problem because he is gorgeous. Yes I am shallow like that. So ha ha ha Maddison you have contradicted yourself. Ca BWAM!

Anywho I think i’ll read the next one because there is just something about it that I liked, but can’t pin point as to exactly what. Ah. Don’t you hate it when that happens.

images

BUY BOOK

3 thoughts on “Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

