Rush Me, by Allison Parr

17203923Book Synopsis:

246 pages | Published April 8th 2013 by Carina Press

When post-grad Rachael Hamilton accidentally gatecrashes a pro-athlete party, she ends up face-to-face with Ryan Carter, the NFL’s most beloved quarterback.

While most girls would be thrilled to meet the attractive young millionaire, Rachael would rather spend time with books than at sporting events, and she has more important things to worry about than romance. Like her parents pressuring her to leave her unpaid publishing internship for law school. Or her brother, who’s obliviously dating Rachael’s high school bully. Or that same high school’s upcoming reunion.

Still, when Ryan’s rookie teammate attaches himself to Rachael, she ends up cohosting Friday night dinners for half a dozen football players.

Over pancake brunches, charity galas, and Alexander the Great Rachael realizes all the judgments she’d made about Ryan are wrong. But how can a Midwestern Irish-Catholic jock with commitment problems and an artsy, gun-shy Jewish New Englander ever forge a partnership? Rachael must let down her barriers if she wants real love–even if that opens her up to pain that could send her back into her emotional shell forever.

 

Review: 4 stars

I picked this book up late Thursday night and could not put it down until after 6 am Friday morning. This book dragged me in and got me hooked! I’ll admit when I first received it, I was a little skeptical. Young intelligent girl meets hot millionaire sports star? Sounds like its been done a few times now, but this book didn’t at all bore or disappoint.

I loved pretty much all the characters! Even the secondary characters were all written really well! Each and everyone of them had such great character building, I felt attached to them all. The gang of footballers made me smile every time! I thought it was great how Rachael became such good mates with all of them before she even started anything with Ryan and refused to abandon them when things got rough in her relationship. I particularly loved Eva, I want to be her best friend! SHE’S SO COOL (I see lots of potential for a second book revolving around Eva).Plus she’s in a play that’s called Pride and Prejudice: The Musical… That’s amazing! I totally want to see that musical! What could be better than Mr. Darcy singing? You tell me.

american-football-couple-love-girl-boy-white-and-black-photo-kiss-sweet-summer-sport-hap And Ryan. *sigh* I love him. He’s a very strong masculine character with a lot of underlying complexities.  I think the way Allison Parr wrote his insecurities was done really realistically. Thankfully I didn’t sit there rolling my eyes but was like ‘awwwwwwww RYAN!’

For the most part I liked Rachael, although at times she irritated me a bit with her quick temper and stubborness. But mostly I felt really connected to Rachael because we’re kinnda at similar points in our lives. As a 20 year old university student who’s about to graduate I’m currently looking at my life and going ‘why the hell didn’t I study something practical like commerce so I can actually find a job??’ Rachael’s at a similar place in her life where she’s trying to find a job to support herself so she doesn’t have to go to law school. She, much like me, has that little voice in her head saying You’re a failure and I just totally get that. For that reason I connected with Rachael and felt like I understood her a lot better than I’ve understood any other characters in a book for a long time. However at times Rachael really pissed me off which prevented me from giving this book 4 stars. The whole spat she had going with Sophie Salisbury felt really immature and stupid to me. I hated it. Luckily they kind of realised what dumb 13 year olds they were acting like but still. It was annoying.

All in all I really liked this book and would totally recommend it to romance lovers 🙂

Untitled

 

Buy this book!

If you like this one, check out:

8204005  16029994  15990969

One thought on “Rush Me, by Allison Parr

Leave a Reply

