Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2) by Wendy Higgins

15768191

Book Synopsis:
Published 30th April 2013 by HarperTeen
374 Pages
Add to Goodreads

Anna Whitt, the daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a vow. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?

Book Review: 4.5 stars
This review has spoilers….and minor ranting and raving! Readers Beware!

And what am I supposed to do now?
Don’t you get that feeling after you have read such an amazing book that it has plagued your imagination throughout the time that you had to put it down, only merely to eat, sleep, or breathe. Who really needs those thing anyway?

Sweet Peril! Oh how I have anxiously awaited you for so long, and I am so glad that you didn’t disappoint. I really enjoy the concept of this series with the whole deadly sins have babies and all. images-2Its unique and intriguing. Overall I did feel like it lacked plot. Where as Sweet Evil was all about the world building, Sweet Peril was about relationship building. Which in some instances, which I will get to later, it didn’t bother me in the least because there was enough parts that kept your heart a fluttering along with Anna’s so that you didn’t really notice that not much was going on. At least where Anna was concerned, because there was a lot going on behind the scenes.

The introduction of more Neph was great! I loved seeing the characteristics Higgen’s gave to these characters, understanding their flaws and fears in regards to their purpose on Earth. I did like Z, but I found her and Anna’s relationship sort of odd. On some level I understood the fact that Z pretty much hated everybody and with Anna who always sees the good in everybody it would be only natural that she would become a sort of ‘motherly’ figure…but I was just sort of like oh…ok. My favourite Nephs with the exception of the Ks of course, would be Blake and Marna….I freakin love them!  Blake is so funny and Marna is genuinely sweet, I never had to question or roll my eyes when they spoke. Higgen’s wrote them in such a way that they really lifted off the page.

“Ready to s-snuggle?” he asked Kaiden, a slight chatter in his voice. Only Blake could joke on a night like this and get away with it. Kaiden shook his head and undressed down to his boxers, too, the tension finally shedding away from his frame.
“I swear, mate. If I feel something poke me in the back….”
Blake’s laugh was dry. “I’m pretty sure my junk froze off, man, so don’t worry.”

images-1Ok so I must admit that Anna sort of annoyed me towards the end. When she was off travelling with Kope her emotions and thoughts were valid. I understood her inner turmoil in regards to the boy that she loves and her need to help those that are struggling. And although I hate to say it but I enjoyed reading Anna and Kaidan fighting a whole lot more than when they were being all coupley cute. The book is rather fast paced and it takes place over a year…i’m pretty sure…maybe longer. So when she see’s Kaidan again after he has left for L.A it has been 6 months, the next time she sees him I think its another two or something…two months will be like two chapters. Like I mentioned before Higgen’s keeps you entertained with the thought of them being together that you just have to keep on reading. Like you just have to. I’m serious. Because some of those scenes are like hold you breath and keep reading. That good.

I honestly just felt like something was missing. Maybe it was because they didn’t do the nasty, and the reason for it I was like *sigh* seriously? Or it could have been because Anna was just too nice. Nobody is that nice. And even if she is I just didn’t feel like I believed it. Especially in the end. It was like she was surprised that people could lie, or try and protect her. I was like you already knew that this was happening! Of course they would try to protect you! Stop being so nice and get angry at Kaidan again!

Anywhoo ~ I honestly did love Sweet Peril it makes me all warm and fuzzy after reading such an amazing book! It had its flaws, but I still think that it lived up to the same, even above, the standards that Sweet Evil placed on this trilogy.

Happy Reading!

images

BUY BOOK

2 thoughts on “Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2) by Wendy Higgins

  1. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

  2. Pingback: Meg’s Top 10 Picks for 2013 | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

