Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2), by Katie McGarry

17371124

  Book Synopsis:

Expected Publication June 1st 2013 by Harlequin Enterprises Australia | 479 pages

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

Book Review: 4 stars

AWW I just finished reading this 5 minutes ago and this absolutely adorable romance has just left me a big gooey puddle of love on the floor! It was just SAHH COOT!!

BETH

“You’re a lot like that bird in the barn. You’re so scared that you’re going to be caged in forever you can’t see the way out. You smack yourself against the wall again and again and again. The door is open, Beth. Stop running in circles and walk out.”

 

smoking-girl

Beth is the girl who comes from the bad part of town. Life has been hard on her and because that she has some serious issues. She’s a classic messed up girl character with serious trust issues and an entrenched fear of love. When her uncle shows up in town to put distance between her and her old life, Beth struggles to let go and start a new life.

RYAN

“How many more of us are faking the facade? How many more of us are pretending to be something we’re not?”

tumblr_miv1e7qlex1rfw0mro1_400

He’s the all American jock with the perfect life but there’s a lot of imperfection under the surface. He struggles with decisions about his family and future. Beth walks into his life at a crucial time and changes everything for him. What starts as a dare quickly becomes more, Ryan never loses and Beth is no exception.

I absolutely adore both of these characters! Beth starts out tough and mean but you quickly uncover her softer and more vulnerable side. She’s a committed and loyal friend and daughter which I really admire about her. Beth was not a character that I particularly liked in Pushing the Limits but I definitely grew to love her strong and sassy character this time. But Ryan is my true favourite. Oh my RYAN. Man, that boy is amazing. He’s the sweetest and most decent guy I’ve ever read about. He’s also strong and protective. Yeah, I have a massive crush on him. So all you fans of Isaiah out there – get ready to switch sides.

I’m not going to lie, when I first read the blurb I was pretty surprised that a new character (Ryan) was being introduced as the male lead. From the first book I was very much expecting Beth to end up with Isaiah. In Pushing the Limits  Isaiah is the main man in Beth’s life and it’s made very clear to all readers that he really loves Beth. So when I started this book I was 1. pretty skeptical about this Ryan character and 2. expecting a long drawn out love triangle. I’m happy to say that I was wrong on both counts. As I said before, Ryan is INCREDIBLE. I switched teams so fast I almost got whiplash. Plus the love triangle is not at all drawn out and dramatic! Thankfully the whole thing was sorted out quickly with relatively little angst. I loved it!

“Screw what Mom and Dad think. Screw the rest of the town. Screw perfection. This girl is mine.”

AWW there are so many quotes in this book that make me melt. When I picture my perfect man I now picture a man identical to Ryan! Seriously great.

kisstherainstandupfootcouplegirlgrey-f4fb9bc4dcd681c3eec5e0410502972f_h

I honestly believe that this book is even better than Katie McGarry’s first book so be prepared! Read it…

i+dare+you

A big thank you to Harlequin Enterprises Australia via NetGalley for the ARC.

Untitled

Buy this book

Similar books to check out:

13560086

16151255the secret of Ella & Micha  15990969

5 thoughts on “Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2), by Katie McGarry

  1. Pingback: Top 5 New Releases of May 2013 | MegaMad 4 books

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

