Lola and the Boy Next door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) by Stephanie Perkins


9961796Book Summary:
Published September 29th 2011 by Dutton Books
Add to Goodreads

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Book Review: 5  stars

You know that you have enjoyed a book when it only takes you 1 day to finish it. And oh boy did I enjoy this book! Even more than Anna and the French Kiss.

Perkins has this wonderful way of crafting her stories with unique characters that as a reader you have no trouble becoming emotionally attached to. I loved Lola as a protagonist, and even found my self waiting anxiously to see what she would be wearing the next day. Her mentality to life is inspiring, full of creativity and charm. She speaks to the moon, which some people might be like waaattt? But its such a unique characteristic of hers that sums up her personality rather perfectly….as well as her romance with a certain boy next door.

“I don’t believe in fashion. I believe in costume. Life is too short to be same person every day.”

<spoilers ahead – readers beware>

tumblr_llclieh1XI1qzlnv7o1_500_thumbLet me just start by saying that I did like Max…at least in the beginning. And in the end I didn’t really hate him as much as Lola because he was just being honest. Yes he is one of those boys who aren’t able to express his emotions and isn’t really interested in anything that goes on in Lola’s life – which sort of was there downfall. He just didn’t get her and Lola was too concerned with being somebody that she thought she should be, doing things that she thought she should be doing, that when Cricket crawled back into her life there was no wonder that she began to question everything. And like any teenage girl, she doesn’t necessarily have the life experience to deal with these things properly. Which is why I loved her conversations with St Clair, especially about the one.

Yes Anna & St Clair are in this book too. I must admit that I was rather surprised at first, then I read that its a companion novel so I was like ahh duh. And to be honest normally when series do this kind of thing it doesn’t work, at least in my mind, because I always find myself wishing that the original characters story would continue because the companion is never as good. But how pleasantly surprised was I when Perkins writes with such shere brilliance that she is able to use these characters to bring an extra pizzazz to a new story. You still get to see the wonderful love between Anna & St Clair, but what I really enjoyed was how they helped Lola find herself again..rather unintentionally.

taylor-swift-you-belong-with-me-music-video-taylor-swift-21519555-1248-704Ahh…Cricket! How can I even possibly put my feelings about you into words. I do know one thing for sure though – I am not adding him to my book boyfriends list. Wait! No its not because I don’t admire is flare and the fact that he invents things…so is clearly good with his hands… but he is just so perfect for Lola! He just understands her. Plain and simple. Why can’t a boy throw toothpicks at my window?

“I know you aren’t perfect. But it’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.”

Lola’s parents are equally amazing! I loved Andy and Nathan, and even Norah grew on me. But I had such trouble trying to figure out how to say Calliope that I just ended up calling her Calli. This book does deal with a few darker issues than Anna and the French Kiss did. There is talk of drug use, sex and same-sex parents. I loved the world that Perkins created, and how her characters were so real that once I finished I felt like such a loser for believing they actually existed.

If you liked A&tFK then pick this one up, even do so if you haven’t read about Anna & St Clair. You won’t be disappointed, and its one of those books that you can’t stop thinking about.

five stars

BUY BOOK

10 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I didn’t read the whole review bc I haven’t read this one yet! Actually.. I have yet to read a Stephanie Perkins book (shocking I know!!)…. what is wrong with me??? Clearly I need to remedy this.

  2. Agreed. I loved this book too! Perkins does a great job with creating relatable protagonists, and I really thought that she did a great job approaching Lola, who is way different from Anna. I agree that I usually shy away from companion books too, but Perkins does it so well, that I get a really fulfilling glimpse of Anna and St. Clair.

    Great review!

  3. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

  4. Pingback: Meg’s Top 10 Picks for 2013 | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

