Toxic Part 1 (Celestra #7), by Addison Moore

15724232 Book Synopsis:

Skyla Messenger’s days are numbered. With an angelic Faction War riding on her shoulders, and her mother’s newfound need to cozy with the enemy, Skyla also has to deal with the fact someone close to her has openly deceived her. Skyla learns that sometimes in life, and in love, things aren’t always what they seem.

 

 

 

 

 

Review: 1.5 stars

OK I would like to start this review by saying that I was quite enjoying the Celestra series before this book. While I thought that the first few books were a bit rough, I also thought that they were getting progressively better and better. I was super excited to see what would happen in the final two books but this was an absolute disappointment! Gosh, I just can’t believe it went so wrong! I look back and think.. ‘what the HELL did I just read? Seriously?!’

b7b

So here are my main issues:

1.The love square – It’s gone on for too long and in this book it gets ten times worse. There’s a fine line between a confused girl and a girl who’s just stringing along a bunch of guys, Skyla has officially crossed that line. She’s so far away from that line; she can’t even see it anymore. In this book, everyone gets some action. She also tells both Logan and Gage separately (but within days of each other) that she really wants to marry them and have their children. MAKE UP YOUR MIND WOMAN. I’ve gone from feeling conflicted alongside her over which guy to choose, to feeling super bad for all three guys and hating Skyla for being such an indecisive tramp.

2.Skyla is selfish! This could just be my dislike over her indecisiveness flowing over and causing me to just hate her in general but I found her to be extremely self-absorbed. Addison Moore does try to remedy this with the standard lines of “I have to save my people” but honestly, I felt that she was more concerned about saving herself than anyone else.

3.The storyline is getting really complicated and a little difficult to follow at times. I found the first few chapters a tad confusing and had a bit of difficulty getting my head around all the dimensions and time loops.

4.Some of the writing was a little bit over the top at times – “The sun rides high overhead, hovering like some alien vessel intent on devouring us. The glare provides its own distinct haze, clouds up my vision with the gloss of happiness it so arrogantly displays” … really?

Toxic (part 1) crashed and burned. I really hope that the second installment of Toxic isn’t the same way but I honestly don’t think I’ll be bothering to read it.

Untitled

2 thoughts on “Toxic Part 1 (Celestra #7), by Addison Moore

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Best & Worst Series Enders | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

