Apollyon (Covenant, #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

9897164Book Synopsis:
Published April 4th by Spencer Hill Press
Add to Goodreads
Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

Book Review: 4.5 stars

Since the devastating ending of Deity that left readers throwing their books against the wall demanding for the next release, lets just say that I was incredibly eager to pick this one up once it hit bookshelves.

Let me begin by saying that I loved creepy Alex. Once you get past the fact that she called Seth ‘My Seth’…ick! The way that Armentrout described those scenes, and the inner dialogue between Alex and Seth was amazing. I felt like I was there, fully immersed back into this wonderful world that I love so much! In fact overall, although I did find that this book was seriously lacking in plot (ie. nothing much happened for several chapters) there was enough tragedy, kicking asses, and unveiling of information that i’m sure the last book will be epic. Armentrout has this ability to entwine humour in serious situations, to lighten the mood. Which makes for an entertaining read. There are some serious one liners in this book that make me smile and giggle like a little school girl. And lets not forget some certain scenes that make you blush along with Alex. wink wink.

“We had no idea what waited ahead of us, other than the big, fat unknown, and most likely a big, fat kick in the face. The gravity of that was killing me-killing us

I squared my shoulders. “Release the Kraken!”

Several sets of eyes settled on me.

“What?” I gave a lopsided shrug. “I’ve always wanted to yell that since I saw that movie. Seemed like the perfect moment.”

Aiden laughed.

“See! That’s why I love him,” I told the group. “He laughs at the stupid crap that comes out of my mouth.”
Apollyon | Armentrout

I loved that we got to see more of the underworld, venturing through the different parts. And it allowed a chance to not only read more Alex & Aidan time but you learn a lot more about Alex and her destiny. Of course there is also the return of Caleb…ahhh Caleb. Besides Caleb we also get to see more of Luke and Deacon, who are amazingly humorous and so fun to read. Actually the supporting cast were really developed in this one, which allowed me to persevere even when nothing else was really going on.

Now lets get to the part that I am seriously obsessing over. Well fellow readers I have been a Seth fan for so long, and yes Maddison has slapped me on several occasions saying that I was crazy for liking him when, well there is Aidan just standing there. I think its just that throughout the past books we got to see a lot of him, and he is quite witty and so messed up with the whole being a pawn thing.  And although I still like Seth, I love Aidan. He is just so protective, and sexy, and humble, and sexy, and we get to see a more humorous side of him..and did I mention that he’s sexy. And he complements her.

So now let me express my thoughts again on this love triangle through song.

….ok in Deity Aiden & Alex were so:

And now in Apollyon there all like:

But Seth is still like:

And I’m all like:

579626_516377235064452_1547803491_n

Because Alex & Aidan are:

tumblr_m3z9lfjKCs1r3ovdbo1_250

Although this book is in a sense a lot darker as we come to the end of this series, you do get to see this sense of vulnerability within all of the characters. Which is all in all incredibly heart breaking. And now I play the waiting game.

I hate the waiting game.

imagesBuy Book

3 thoughts on “Apollyon (Covenant, #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Top 5 New Releases of April | MegaMad 4 books

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

  3. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday #5: Sentinel | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

